Odisha Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Date, Phase, Constituencies | Political Analysis

Odisha Lok Sabha Elections 2024

The Odisha Lok Sabha Election 2024 is set to unfold in four phases, with significant implications for the state’s political landscape. Scheduled to be held on May 13, May 20, May 25, and June 1, 2024, the electoral process will culminate in the counting of votes on June 4, as announced by the Chief Election Commissioner, Rajiv Kumar. This electoral event will determine the composition of the 147-member Odisha Legislative Assembly, with the current assembly’s term expiring on June 2, 2024.

The four-phase polling schedule is designed to ensure a smooth and organized conduct of the elections across the state. Voters will cast their ballots on the specified dates, namely May 13, May 20, May 25, and June 1, 2024, marking their choices for candidates vying for assembly seats in Odisha. Following the conclusion of the polling process, the results will be declared on June 4, 2024, shaping the course of governance in the state for the coming years.

Odisha Phase-wise Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Schedule: Citywise List:-

Constituencies Phase Polling Date
Kalahandi, Nabarangapur, Berhampur, Koraput IV May 13
Bargarh, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal, Aska V May 20
Sambalpur, Keonjhar, Dhenkanal, Cuttack, Puri, Bhubaneswar VI May 25
Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Kendrapara, Jagatsinghpur VII June 1

The election process will unfold in a phased manner, with specific dates allocated for key activities such as the issue of notification, scrutiny of nomination, and withdrawal of candidature. The first phase will witness the issuance of notification on April 18, followed by subsequent phases on April 26, April 29, and May 7. Similarly, the last date of notification, scrutiny of nomination, and withdrawal of candidature will be staggered across these phases, ensuring adherence to the electoral timeline.

The Election Commission has emphasized the importance of impartiality and transparency in conducting the elections, directing enforcement agencies to uphold the principles of fairness and equality. Efforts will be made to ensure a level playing field for all candidates and parties, facilitating free and fair elections that reflect the will of the electorate.

In the previous Odisha Legislative Assembly elections held in 2019, the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) emerged victorious, securing 113 seats and forming the government for a fifth consecutive term under Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 23 seats, while the Congress secured 9 seats. Notably, the remaining seats were won by the Communist Party of India (Marxist) and an independent candidate, reflecting the diverse political landscape of the state.

With 21 Lok Sabha seats at stake in Odisha, the upcoming elections will witness a triangular contest among the ruling BJD, the principal opposition BJP, and the Congress, vying for a comeback after being out of power since 2000. Speculations abound regarding possible alliances, with the BJD president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik holding meetings to review poll preparedness, and the BJP and Congress finalizing their candidates and strategies.

In conclusion, the Odisha Lok Sabha Election 2024 holds immense significance for the state’s political trajectory, with voters set to exercise their democratic right across four phases. As the electoral process unfolds, all eyes will be on Odisha, as it navigates through a landscape defined by political dynamics, strategic maneuvering, and the quest for electoral supremacy. Stay tuned for comprehensive coverage and updates on Odisha’s electoral journey as the polling dates approach.

Also Read:-

Leave a Comment