Bihar Lok Sabha Election 2024 Schedule: Dates, Phases, Constituencies | Political Analysis

Bihar Lok Sabha Election 2024 Schedule: Dates, Phases, Constituencies | Political Analysis

Bihar Lok Sabha Election Dates

The Lok Sabha elections in Bihar for 2024 are set to take place in seven phases, starting from April 19 and concluding on June 1. This election is crucial as Bihar holds 40 Lok Sabha constituencies, making it one of the most significant states in Indian politics.

In January, Bihar made headlines when Chief Minister Nitish Kumar decided to break away from the Mahagathbandhan alliance and formed a new alliance with the BJP, known as the NDA (National Democratic Alliance). Additionally, Jitan Ram Manjhi’s party, Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM), also joined the NDA alliance.


Bihar Lok Sabha Election 2024 Dates: City-wise List:-

Phase 1 (April 19) Aurangabad, Gaya, Nawada, Jamui
Phase 2 (April 26) Kishanganj, Katihar, Purnia, Bhagalpur, Banka
Phase 3 (May 7) Jhanjharpur, Supaul, Araria, Madhepura, Khagaria
Phase 4 (May 13) Darbhanga, Ujiarpur, Samastipur, Begusarai, Munger
Phase 5 (May 20) Sitamarhi, Madhubani, Muzaffarpur, Saran, Hajipur
Phase 6 (May 25) Valmiki Nagar, Paschim Champaran, Purvi Champaran, Sheohar, Vaishali, Gopalganj, Siwan, Maharajganj
Phase 7 (June 1) Nalanda, Patna Sahib, Pataliputra, Arrah, Buxar, Sasaram, Karakat, Jahanabad


Bihar Lok Sabha Election Phases:-

Bihar Lok Sabha Election Dates


Bihar Lok Sabha Elections 2024:-

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the NDA, comprising the BJP, JDU (Janata Dal United), and LJP (Lok Janshakti Party), secured a landslide victory by winning 39 out of 40 seats. The Mahagathbandhan, led by RJD (Rashtriya Janata Dal), INC (Indian National Congress), and RLSP (Rashtriya Lok Samta Party), managed to win only one seat.

The previous election saw 34 unreserved seats and 6 reserved seats for Scheduled Caste candidates. This time, the Lok Sabha constituencies in Bihar will witness voting across seven phases, with results expected on June 4.

In anticipation of the 2024 elections, the political landscape in Bihar is charged with anticipation. Nitish Kumar’s alliance with the BJP has drawn significant attention, especially as Bihar remains a critical battleground for both the BJP and Congress.

The BJP, having formed an alliance once again with Nitish Kumar’s JD(U), aims to improve its performance in the upcoming polls. However, it faces stiff competition from the RJD led by Tejashwi Yadav, son of former Bihar CM Lalu Yadav, as well as the Congress.

In the previous general election, the BJP won 22 seats, while the JD(U) won 16 seats. Both parties contested the polls in alliance, with the BJP emerging as the senior ally. The LJP, another NDA member, secured 6 seats. Meanwhile, the Congress, part of the Mahagathbandhan, won just 1 seat in Bihar.

In a significant development, the BJP has taken precedence over Nitish Kumar’s party and is contesting as the senior ally in this election. The BJP will contest 17 seats, while the JD(U) will field candidates in 16 constituencies. The remaining 7 constituencies will be contested by other NDA allies.

Overall, the Lok Sabha elections in Bihar are poised to be closely watched, with political parties gearing up for a fierce battle to secure a majority in this crucial heartland state.




Also Read:-

Leave a Comment

Floating Icons