West Bengal Lok Sabha Election 2024: Schedule, Phases, Seats, Parties, and Key Players

West Bengal Lok Sabha Election 2024

The West Bengal Lok Sabha Election 2024 is slated to be a significant event in India’s political landscape, with the state’s 42 parliamentary constituencies up for grabs. The Election Commission of India has announced a meticulous schedule for the polls, divided into seven phases spanning from April 19 to June 1. This staggered approach aims to ensure smooth conduct and maximum participation of voters across the diverse regions of the state. Each phase will cover a set of constituencies, allowing election officials to manage the process effectively and address any logistical challenges that may arise.

West Bengal Lok Sabha Election 2024 Dates: City-wise List:-

Constituencies Phase Polling Date
Cooch Behar, Alipurduars, Jalpaiguri I April 19
Darjeeling, Raiganj, Balurghat II April 26
Malda Uttar, Malda Dakshin, Jangipur, Murshidabad III May 7
Baharampur, Krishnanagar, Ranaghat, Bardhaman Purba, Burdwan-Durgapur, Asansol, Bolpur, Birbhum IV May 13
Bangaon, Barrackpur, Howrah, Uluberia, Srerampur, Hooghly, Arambagh V May 20
Tamluk, Kanthi, Ghatal, Jhargram, Medinipur, Purulia, Bankura, Bishnupur VI May 25
Dum Dum, Barasat, Basirhat, Jaynagar, Mathurapur, Diamond Harbour, Jadavpur, Kolkata Dakshin, Kolkata Uttar VII June 1

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, West Bengal witnessed a fierce battle between the Trinamool Congress (TMC), led by Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which made significant inroads into the state’s political landscape. TMC emerged victorious in 22 seats, while BJP made impressive gains, securing 18 seats, marking a significant shift in the state’s political dynamics. Additionally, the Congress managed to secure two seats, further emphasizing the multi-cornered contest prevalent in the state.

With West Bengal being a crucial battleground for both regional and national parties, the upcoming Lok Sabha elections are anticipated to witness intense campaigning and strategic alliances. Mamata Banerjee’s TMC, after securing a landslide victory in the 2021 assembly elections, is gearing up to defend its stronghold and retain its dominance in the state’s parliamentary representation. However, the BJP, buoyed by its electoral gains in recent years, is leaving no stone unturned to expand its footprint further and emerge as the principal challenger to the ruling party.



Poll Schedule and Phases:

  • Phase 1 (April 19): Coochbehar, Alipurduar, Jalpaiguri
  • Phase 2 (April 26): Darjeeling, Raiganj, Balurghat
  • Phase 3 (May 7): Maldaha Uttar, Maldaha Dakshin, Jangipur, Murshidabad
  • Phase 4 (May 13): Baharampur, Krishnanagar, Ranaghat, Bardhaman Purba, Bardhaman-Durgapur, Asansol, Bolpur, Birbhum
  • Phase 5 (May 20): Bangaon, Barrackpur, Howrah, Uluberia, Sreerampur, Hooghly, Arambag
  • Phase 6 (May 25): Tamluk, Kanthi, Ghatal, Jhargram, Medinipur, Purulia, Bankura, Bishnupur
  • Phase 7 (June 1): Dum Dum, Barasat, Basirhat, Jaynagar, Mathurapur, Diamond Harbour, Jadavpur, Kolkata Dakshin, Kolkata Uttar

Seat Distribution and Parties:

  • West Bengal has 42 Lok Sabha seats.
  • In the 2019 elections, TMC won 22, BJP won 18, and Congress won 2 seats.
  • 30 seats are unreserved, 10 are reserved for SC candidates, and 2 for ST candidates.
  • India TV-CNX Opinion Poll suggests BJP may win 20 seats, and TMC 21.

Key Players and Alliances:

  • TMC, led by Mamata Banerjee, is contesting solo, rejecting Congress’s I.N.D.I.A bloc.
  • Abhishek Banerjee, Mamata’s nephew, announced TMC’s 42 candidates.
  • TMC’s Mahua Moitra will contest from Krishnanagar, and Yusuf Pathan from Baharampur.

Previous Performance:

  • TMC won 22 seats in 2019, BJP won 18.
  • In the 2021 assembly elections, TMC secured 215 seats, BJP got 77.
  • West Bengal is the third-largest contributor to Lok Sabha seats after UP and Maharashtra.


The poll schedule delineates the constituencies that will go to polls in each phase, ensuring a systematic and organized approach to the electoral process. Phase 1, commencing on April 19, will cover constituencies like Coochbehar, Alipurduar, and Jalpaiguri, setting the stage for subsequent phases that will include other key regions of the state. This phased approach allows for focused attention on specific areas, facilitating efficient management of resources and personnel.

As the election dates draw closer, political parties are intensifying their campaign efforts, rallying support from voters and outlining their vision for the state’s development. The TMC, under Mamata Banerjee’s leadership, is emphasizing its track record of governance and welfare initiatives, aiming to resonate with voters across demographics. On the other hand, the BJP is leveraging its electoral gains and national agenda to mobilize support, promising transformative change and effective governance.

The electoral landscape in West Bengal is further enlivened by the emergence of strategic alliances and the formation of electoral blocs. While the TMC has opted to contest the elections independently, the BJP is forging alliances with regional parties and consolidating its support base. The Congress, too, is exploring potential alliances to maximize its electoral prospects and emerge as a significant player in the state’s political arena.

The outcome of the West Bengal Lok Sabha elections will not only determine the state’s representation in the Parliament but also shape the trajectory of its political future. With each phase of polling, the electorate will have the opportunity to voice their aspirations and concerns, contributing to the democratic process. As the election narrative unfolds, all eyes will be on West Bengal, as it navigates through a landscape defined by political dynamism, strategic maneuvering, and the quest for electoral supremacy.



West Bengal Lok Sabha elections 2019 results

TMC: 22

BJP: 18
Congress: 02
Left Front: 00

West Bengal Lok Sabha elections 2014 results

AITC: 34
BJP: 02
Congress: 04
CPI (M): 02

The electoral battle in West Bengal is poised to be intense, with TMC and BJP being the main contenders. Stay tuned for updates as the election unfolds.



Also Read:-

Leave a Comment

Floating Icons