Maharashtra Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Schedule, Dates, Phases, Seats, Candidates

Maharashtra Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Schedule, Dates, Phases, Seats, Candidates

Maharashtra Lok Sabha Elections 2024

Maharashtra has a total number of 48 seats in the Lok Sabha , making it one of the most important states in the Upcoming General Elections. After much deliberation and preparation the Election Commission of India has announced the dates of Lok Sabha elections in India. The Elections for the lower house of the parliament will start from 19th April 2024 and will be conducted in  7 phases throughout different states. In Maharashtra the election will be conducted in 5 different phases between 19 April  to 20 May 2024.  The ECI has completed the poll preparedness survey and has ensured that every state is ready and equipped with necessary personnel and machinery to conduct the general elections. Like ECI parties have also done their preparation, while the BJP Shiv Sena alliance has announced some of their candidates in the constituencies of Maharashtra, India bloc will also announce the list soon. Currently the government in Maharashtra is formed by the alliance between Shiv Sena and BJP which makes it favourable for NDA to secure a good number of seats there. However another faction of Shiv Sena is also there with the India Alliance that can give a competition to NDA. Let’s take a look at Lok Sabha elections in Maharashtra.


Mahrashtra Lok Sabha Elections Dates 2024: Citywise List:-

Phase 2 April 26 Buldhana,  Akola, Amravati, Wardha, Yavatmal , Washim, Hingoli,  Nanded, Parbhani
Phase 3 May 7 Raigad,  Baramati, Osmanabad,  Latur,  Solapur, Madha,  Sangli, Satara, Ratnagiri, Sindhudurg, Kolhapur Hatkanangle
Phase 4 May 13 Raigad,  Baramati, Osmanabad,  Latur,  Solapur, Madha,  Sangli, Satara, Ratnagiri, Sindhudurg, Kolhapur Hatkanangle
Phase 5 May 20 Dhule,  Dindori, Nashik , Palghar,  Bhiwandi, Kalyan, Thane, Mumbai North, Mumbai North West Mumbai North East, Mumbai,  North – Central, Mumbai South – Central, Mumbai South


In Maharashtra, the political landscape is gearing up for the Lok Sabha elections as the Eknath Shinde-led Shiv Sena, Ajit Pawar’s Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) are set to contest in alliance. This collaboration marks a significant political alignment, considering the historical dynamics of the state’s politics.

During the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP had emerged victorious, securing 23 out of the 25 seats it contested. Meanwhile, its erstwhile ally, the Shiv Sena, clinched 18 seats out of the 23 it had contested. On the other hand, the NCP, as part of the opposition alliance, contested 19 seats and managed to secure four victories. These results underscored the BJP’s dominance in the state’s electoral landscape at that time.

However, Maharashtra’s political scenario witnessed a dramatic shift in 2022 when the Shiv Sena, which had previously joined forces with the Congress and the NCP to form a coalition government after the 2019 Assembly elections, split. Eknath Shinde, along with a majority of the party’s MPs and MLAs, broke away from the alliance and forged an alliance with the BJP. This move paved the way for the saffron party to form a coalition government in Maharashtra, with Shinde assuming the role of chief minister.

Similarly, Ajit Pawar, a prominent leader within the NCP, orchestrated a defection, leading a significant number of MLAs to join forces with the BJP-Shiv Sena coalition government. Consequently, the Shinde and Ajit Pawar factions were recognized as the ‘real’ Shiv Sena and ‘real’ NCP, respectively, by the Election Commission and the Maharashtra Assembly Speaker.

As the political landscape in Maharashtra undergoes these transformations, the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections in 2024 are poised to be highly contested. With the Shiv Sena-NCP-BJP alliance in place, the dynamics of electoral campaigning and voter mobilization are likely to witness significant shifts.


Check the full list of candidates and their constituencies for Maharashtra from BJP’s 2nd Lok Sabha list:

  1. Nitin Jairam Gadkari – Nagpur
  2. Piyush Goyal – Mumbai North
  3. Dr Heena Vijaykumar Gavit – Nadurbar (ST)
  4. Dr Subhash Ramrao Bhamre – Dhule
  5. Smita Wagh – Jalgaon
  6. Raksha Nikhil Khadase – Raver
  7. Anup Dhotre – Akola
  8. Ramdas Chandrabhanji Tadas – Wardha
  9. Sudhir Mungantiwar – Chandrapur
  10. Prataprao Patil Chikhalikar – Nanded
  11. Raosaheb Dadarao Danve – Jalna
  12. Bharati Pravin Pawar – Dindori (ST)
  13. Kapil Moreshwar Patil – Bhiwandi
  14. Mihir Kotecha – Mumbai North East
  15. Murlidhar Kisan Mohol – Pune
  16. Sujay Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil – Ahmadnagar
  17. Pankaja Munde – Beed
  18. Sudhakar Tukaram Shrangare – Latur (SC)
  19. Ranjeetsinha Hindurao Naik-Nimbalkar – Madha
  20. Sanjaykaka Patil – Sangli


Also Read:-

Leave a Comment