Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Schedule, Key Seats, Candidates

Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections 2024

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has announced the schedule for the Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha elections 2024. The elections will be conducted in seven phases, starting from April 19 and ending on June 1. Vote counting will take place on June 4. Phase 1 voting is scheduled for April 19, Phase 2 for April 26, Phase 3 for May 7, Phase 4 for May 13, Phase 5 for May 20, Phase 6 for May 25, and Phase 7 for June 1.

Like the last general elections this election will also be conducted in different phases. The ECI has released the list of Phases and the states in which these elections will be conducted during this phase. Today in this article we’ll talk about the election dates in Uttar Pradesh. Being the largest state of India by population , Uttar Pradesh commands the highest number of Lok Sabha Seats which is 80.  Therefore it would be important to see how the parties will perform at these seats in order to make government at the central level. Furthermore , we’ll also see the list of candidates that both the BJP led National Democratic Alliance and INDIA block has announced in the constituencies of Uttar Pradesh. Both the groups have serious footings in the state of UP and the competition is believed to be cut throat. Currently , there is a BJP government led by CM Yogi Adityanath in UP , which indicates much more favourable conditions for the BJP in the Lok Sabha elections 2024. Now let’s see what are the dates for lok sabha elections in UP announced by the Election Commission.

UP Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Dates: City-Wise List :-

Phase Date Lok Sabha Constituencies to Vote
Phase 1 April 19 Saharanpur, Kairana, Muzzafarnagar, Bijnor, Nagina, Muradabad, Rampur, Pilibhit
Phase 2 April 26 Amroha, Meerut, Baghpat, Ghaziabad, Gautam Buddha Nagar, Bulandshahr (SC), Aligarh, Mathura
Phase 3 May 7 Sambhal, Hathras, Agra, Fatehpur Sikri, Firozabad, Mainpuri, Etah, Badaun, Amla, Bareilly
Phase 4 May 13 Shahjahanpur (SC), Lakhimpur Kheri, Dhaurahara, Sitapur, Hardoi, Misrikh, Unnao, Farrukhabad, Etawah, Kannauj, Kanpur, Akbarpur, Bahraich
Phase 5 May 20 Mohanlalganj, Lucknow, Rae Bareli, Amethi, Jalaun, Jhansi, Hamirpur, Banda, Fatehpur, Kaushambi, Barabanki, Faizabad, Kaiserganj, Gonda
Phase 6 May 25 Sultanpur, Pratapgarh, Phulpur, Allahabad, Ambedkarnagar, Shravasti, Dumariyaganj, Basti, Sant Kabir Nagar, Lalganj (SC), Azamgarh, Jaunpur, Machhilshahr, Bhadohi
Phase 7 June 1 Maharajganj, Gorakhpur, Kushinagar, Deoria, Bansgaon (SC), Ghosi, Salempur, Ballia, Ghazipur, Chandauli, Varanasi, Mirzapur, Robertsganj (SC)

Elections 2024: Key seats to watch out for in UP

Key seats to watch out for in UP

  • Uttar Pradesh sends 80 members to the Lok Sabha, the highest among all states.
  • Kannauj: Samajwadi Party president Akhllesh Yadav likely to contest from Kannauj with its significant presence of OBC and Muslim voters.
  • Mainpuri: An SP citadel represented once by Mulayam Singh Yadav, and currently by Dimple Yadav.
  • Raebareli: UP Congress leaders say they want Priyanka Gandhi Vadra to contest this family bastion held earlier by her mother Sonia Gandhi, who has now switched to the Rajya Sabha.
  • Amethi: In 2019, Union minister Smriti Irani defeated Rahul Gandhi from what had been his home turf. The BJP has fielded Irani here again this time.
  • Gorakhpur: Yogi Adityanath’s ‘karmabhoomi’ which he represented in Parliament five times before he became the Uttar Pradesh chief minister.
  • Varanasi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s parliamentary constituency from where he is now contesting for the third time.
  • Kaiserganj: Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh, BJP leader who faces charges of sexually harassing women players, has represented the constituency since 2009.
  • Faizabad: The parliamentary constituency has gained more prominence with the inauguration of the Ram temple — Ayodhya is part of the district which was earlier known as Faizabad.
  • Rampur: Azam Khan’s crumbling citadel.

Also Read:-

Leave a Comment

Floating Icons