RBI Governors of India from 1935 to 2024: Names, Terms, and Roles

RBI Governors of India from 1935 to 2024: Names, Terms, and Roles

RBI Governors of India

Governors Of Reserve Bank Of India :  The Governor of the Reserve Bank of India is the most senior banker of India’s central bank RBI. Since the establishment of RBI in 1935, a total of 25 Governors have been appointed so far in the Reserve Bank of India. The first Governor of the Reserve Bank was Sir Osborne Smith.

The Government of India appoints the Governor of RBI for a fixed term of 5 years. All Indian currency notes bear the signature of the Governor of India, except the one rupee note, which is signed by the Finance Secretary of India. Check the complete list of 25 RBI Governors from 1935 to 2022. Since its establishment in 1935 by the British colonial government, RBI has been headed by 25 governors.


Also Read:-

List of Railway Ministers in India (1945-2024) | Tenure, Political Group, Political Affiliation

List of RBI Governor from 1935 to 2024


List Of Governors

Serial no. Name Of Governor Duration
Current Governor From till
25 Shri Shaktikanta Das 12.12.2018 So far
former governor
24 Dr. Urjit Patel 04.09.2016 11.12.201844
23 Dr. Raghuram Rajan 04.09.2013 04.09.2016
22 Dr. D. Subbarao 05.09.2008




21 Dr. Y.V. Reddy 06.09.2003 05.09.2008
20 Dr. Vimal Jalan 22.11.1997 05.09.2003
19 Dr. C. Rangarajan 22.12.1992




18 Shri S. Venkitaramanan 22.12.1990 21.12.1992
17 Shri R.N. Malhotra 04.02.1985 22.12.1990
16 Mr. Amitabh Ghosh 15.01.1985 04.02.1985
15 Dr. Manmohan Singh 16.09.1982 14.01.1985
14 Dr. I.G. Patel 01.12.1977 15.09.1982
13 Shri M. Narasimham 02.05.1977 30.11.1977
12 Shri K.R. Puri 20.08.1975 02.05.1977
11 Shri N.C. Sen Gupta 19.05.1975 19.08.1975
10 Shri S. Jagannathan 16.06.1970 19.05.1975
9 Shri B.N. Aadarkar 04.05.1970 15.06.1970
8 Shri Laxmikant Jha 01.07.1967 03.05.1970
7 Shri P.C. Bhattacharya 01.03.1962 30.06.1967
6 Shri H.V.R. Iyengar 01.03.1957 28.02.1962
5 Shri K.G. AMBEGAONKAR 14.01.1957 28.02.1957
4 Shri Benegal Rama Rao 01.07.1949 14.01.1957
3 Shri Chintaman Dwarkanath Deshmukh * 11.08.1943 30.06.1949
2 Sir James Brad Taylor 01.07.1937 17.02.1943
1 Sir Asburn A. Smith 01.04.1935 30.06.1937

Also Read:-

Cabinet Ministers of India 2024: Full List, Portfolios, and Responsibilities


 Shaktikanta Das Current RBI Governor

The present one is Shaktikanta Das, former Finance Secretary and member of the Finance Commission . He assumed charge on December 11, 2018. He is the 25th Governor of the Reserve Bank. The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) has approved extension of the tenure of the current Governor of Reserve Bank of India (RBI) Shaktikanta Das for the next three years from December 10, 2021. He assumed charge as the 25th Governor of RBI on December 11, 2018 for three years. Before his appointment to the RBI, Das served as a member of the 15th Finance Commission. He is a 1980 batch Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer of Tamil Nadu cadre.

How is the RBI Governor appointed?

The Government of India appoints the RBI Governor. According to the official website of the Reserve Bank of India, rbi.org.in, “The affairs of the Reserve Bank are governed by a Central board of directors. The Board is appointed by the Government of India in accordance with the Reserve Bank of India Act.”



Also Read:-

List of Finance Ministers of India from 1947 to 2024: Complete Timeline and Political Affiliation

Role and Responsibility of RBI Governor:-

One of the most important functions of the RBI Governor is to formulate policies that enable him to have a positive impact on the economy of India. Below are some of the important responsibilities that the RBI Governor keeps in mind:

  • Being the head of the most prestigious financial institutions, the RBI Governor is responsible for maintaining monetary stability in an economy. Thus, the Reserve Bank of India plays an important role in formulating policies.
  • The Governor of RBI also has the responsibility of issuing licenses for opening new foreign and private banks.
  • The power to control interest rates on advances and deposits in the country is vested in the Governor. However, the scope of this power is limited to determining minimum lending rates and interest rates on savings accounts.
  • The financial system of the nation is controlled and administered by the Governor and he alone sets the parameters within which the entire financial system functions.
  • The Governor of RBI manages external trade and payments and also promotes the orderly development and maintenance of the foreign exchange market in India which comes under the Foreign Exchange Management Act, 1999.
  • To monitor the supply of adequate quantity of currency notes and coins in the country and to issue and destroy currency (which is not fit for public circulation).
  • The RBI Governor also keeps an eye on the rules and regulations to make them more customer-friendly.
  • The RBI Governor heads and supervises the primary co-operative banks through the Urban Bank Departments.
  • In addition, the Governor of the Reserve Bank of India also has a role in facilitating and monitoring the flow of credit to small scale industries, rural and agricultural sectors. The Governor is also responsible for regulating state co-operative banks, regional rural banks and various local area banks.

So these were all the RBI governors that India has seen. They have handled and saved our nation from some incredible hard times and control the financial flow of this developing nation.


Leave a Comment

Floating Icons