Mumbai Indians (MI) IPL Team Owner 2024: Name, Net Worth, Background, History, Team’s IPL Performance, Other Stakeholders & Squad

Mumbai Indians (MI) IPL Team Owner

One of the most famous sports leagues in the world is the Indian Premier league. The 17th season of the Indian Premier League is going to start from 22 March 2024. The first match will be played in Chepauk Stadium Chennai, between the Royal Challengers Bangalore and Chennai Super Kings. The IPL is unmatched and its popularity is growing day by day. It is a tournament where 10 teams compete with each other to win the IPL cup. Famous players from more than 13 cricket playing Nations come together to play in IPL providing a wholesome entertainment to the fans all around the world.  Having so many famous players and teams it is natural to have curiosity about their team. Today in this article will discuss the ownership of one such favourite team. We will get to know who is the owner of Mumbai Indians. 

Mumbai Indians is one of the most successful cricket franchises in the IPL. They have won the cup five times and they are known for their great line up and aggressive batting and bowling skills. Rohit Sharma, the Hitman was the captain of the Mumbai Indians from 2013 till 2023 and has led the team to lots of successful wins over these years. However, during the auction of IPL 2024 , the owners of Mumbai Indians decided to bring Hardik Pandya, the captain of Gujarat Titans back to Mumbai Indians and made him captain. So for the first time Mumbai Indians will be playing under the captaincy of Hardik Pandya. The owners of Mumbai Indians are as famous as the players of the team so let’s have a look at who is the owner of Mumbai Indians in IPL 2024.

Mumbai Indians (MI) Owner 2024

The owners of the Mumbai Indians are none other than the famous Ambani’s. Ambani’s are one of the most richest and famous business families around the world.  Mukesh Ambani, the head of the family, is the owner of Reliance industries. However, reliance industries don’t own Mumbai Indians directly.  The famous IPL franchise Mumbai Indians is owned by Indian  Win sports limited a subsidiary of reliance industries founded in 2007. Indiawin owns multiple teams in various sports franchises around the world. The sports division of Reliance industries is managed by the wife of Mukesh Ambani, Mrs Nita Ambani and his son  Akash Ambani. They are the one who takes the decision about the team and will be seen cheering the team during the Matches. However , if we talk about the owner of Mumbai Indians, Mukesh Ambani is the sole owner of the team on paper.

Who is Mukesh Ambani?

Mukesh Ambani is the richest man in India and in Asia. He is the head of one of the most powerful business groups and families. The current net worth of Mukesh Ambani is $ 11,230  Crores. The wealth of Mukesh Ambani can be determined by seeing that he spent INR 1200 Crore on the pre wedding bash of his son which was only 0.1% of his total wealth. Mukesh Ambani is the 10th richest person in the world and for a brief period he was also in the top 3 richest persons in the world.  Mukesh  was born into a Gujarati Hindu family to Dhirubai Ambani and Kokilaben Ambani. He also has a younger brother, Anil Ambani, and two sisters. He played a crucial role in the establishment and growth of Reliance Industries. He helped his father to establish Reliance industries 1981 and had led the firm to great heights. The Ambani’s have a diversified business and they are into different industries such as  petrochemicals, oil and gas, chemicals, retail, telecommunications, and media. Mukesh Ambani is married to Nita Ambani and has three children, Anant and twins Aakash and Isha Ambani. So this was all about the owner of Mumbai Indians.

Who is Nita Ambani?

While Mukesh Ambani is the one paper owner of the Mumbai Indians , Nita Ambani , the wife of Mukesh Ambani manages day to day operations and decision making of the team. Apart from this Nita Ambani is also in charitable work, she is an Indian philanthropist and the chairperson of the Reliance Foundation. Reliance Foundation actively works towards the upliftment of poor people and welfare of kids. Apart from this Nita Ambani is also a director in the Reliance industries.  Currently, Nita Ambani is one of the most influential women in Asia.

Mumbai Indians in IPL 2024

Mumbai Indians the absolute fan favourite team in the IPL. MI is one of the most famous and successful teams in the tournament and has won 5 cups since the start of the tournament. Since 2013 Rohit Sharma is the captain of the Mumbai Indians and has won 5 cups for the team. However in IPL 2024 we’ll see Hardik Pandya leading the team in place of Rohit Sharma. Mark Boucher is the coach of the Mumbai Indians in 2024. Great Things are expected from the team this year.

Mumbai Indians IPL 2024 Squads

Below we have mentioned the latest squad of the Mumbai Indians in IPL 2024. We’ll be seeing lot’s of new faces this year, however MI has retained key players for their team.

Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Dewald Brevis, Tilak Varma, Hardik Pandya (Traded from GT), Tim David, Arjun Tendulkar, Kumar Kartikeya, Akash Madhwal, Vishnu Vinod, Romario Shepherd, Shams Mulani, Nehal Wadhera, Piyush Chawla, Gerald Coetzee, Shreyas Gopal, Nuwan Thushara, Naman Dhir, Anshul Kamboj, Mohammad Nabi, Luke Wood

Mumbai Indians IPL Stats 2008-2023

IPL Season Position Performance
2008 N/A Controversy due to Harbhajan Singh’s ban. Sanath Jayasuriya top scorer. Lowest total by KKR – 67.
2009 7th Played in South Africa, JP Duminy top scorer, Malinga top wicket-taker.
2010 Runner-up Reached first final, Tendulkar highest scorer.
2011 3rd Finished third, Tendulkar scored first IPL century.
2012 3rd Finished third, Dwayne Smith’s memorable innings.
2013 Winner Won first IPL title, Tendulkar retired.
2014 4th Defending champions, Lendl Simmons top scorer.
2015 Winner Second IPL title, Malinga top wicket-taker.
2016 5th Failed to make playoffs, McClenaghan top wicket-taker.
2017 Winner Third IPL title in dramatic final, Bumrah top wicket-taker.
2018 5th Failed to qualify for playoffs, Pandya top wicket-taker.
2019 Winner Fourth IPL title, Bumrah top wicket-taker.
2020 Winner Fifth IPL title, Bumrah top wicket-taker.
2021 N/A Missed playoffs, Rohit Sharma top scorer.
2022 10th Finished tenth, worst season.
2023 Playoffs Playoffs appearance, Suryakumar Yadav top scorer, Chawla top wicket-taker. Akash Madhwal best bowling figures.

So this was all about the owner of the Mumbai Indians in IPL 2024. We hope that you have got all the information that you might need for your favourite team.

Also Read:-

Leave a Comment

Floating Icons