Top 10 Longest Sixes in IPL History: Explosive Batting at Its Finest

Longest Sixes in IPL History

IPL is famous for its high voltage batting action and breathtaking sixes throughout the series. Because of the six, the excitement among the audience increases beyond limits. Due to these  long shots the team’s run rate increases. Over the last decade, we have seen spectacular sixes in the IPL. Some shots are quite powerful and some are executed with perfect timing. Some sixes are hit over the wicketkeeper, which is very thrilling to watch. Usually 600 sixes are hit in an IPL season. Many sixes are hit very easily, while there are many such shots which go beyond 100 metres. Hitting long sixes requires not only strength but also better technique. The distance of the sixes is measured using radar gun or Hawk Eye technology. Players who hit long sixes are also honoured in the IPL. Chris Gayle has hit the most sixes in the IPL. Suresh Raina is at number two . If we talk about the longest sixes, there are many other players who are far ahead of Gayle. In this list we’ll talk about those players who astonished everyone with their superb and powerful batting skills. Soon the IPL 2024 will start and we’ll see if anyone is able to break this record or not .

Longest Six in IPL History

Position Year Player Team Distance (in meters)
1 2008 Albie Morkel Chennai Super Kings 125
2 2013 Praveen Kumar Kings XI Punjab 124
3 2011 Adam Gilchrist Kings XI Punjab 122
4 2010 Robin Uthappa Royal Challengers Bangalore 120
5 2013 Chris Gayle Royal Challengers Bangalore 119
6 2009 Yuvraj Singh Kings XI Punjab 119
7 2008 Ross Taylor Royal Challengers Bangalore 119
8 2016 Ben Cutting Sunrisers Hyderabad 117
9 2013 Gautam Gambhir Kolkata Knight Riders 117
10 2009 MS Dhoni/Faf Du Plessis Chennai Super Kings/Royal Challengers Bangalore 115

Also Read:-

Leave a Comment