Governors of India 2024: Complete List, Appointment, Powers, Salary

Governors of India 2024: Complete List, Appointment, Powers, Salary

Governors of India 2024

Governor is an important constitutional position that acts as a link between the Centre and the state. A Governor is equivalent to a President in a State. In India the Central government appoints governors in different States and Union Territories. Today in this Article we’ll discuss Governors of India in 2024. We have included all the governors in different states and UTs of the nation. We have also included the list of first governors of the nation. In this article you’ll also find discussion about the appointment, salary and powers of the governor in India.

Also Read:-

Cabinet Ministers of India 2024: Full List, Portfolios, and Responsibilities

List of Governor in all the States in India

List of Governors of India
State Governors
Andhra Pradesh Shri Justice (Retd.) S. Abdul Nazeer
Arunachal Pradesh Lt. General Kaiwalya Trivikram Parnaik, PVSM, UYSM, YSM (Retired)
Assam Shri Gulab Chand Kataria
Bihar Shri Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar
Chhattisgarh Shri Biswa Bhusan Harichandan
Goa Shri P.S. Sreedharan Pillai
Gujarat Shri Acharya Dev Vrat
Haryana Shri Bandaru Dattatraya
Himachal Pradesh Shri Shiv Pratap Shukla
Jharkhand Shri C.P. Radhakrishnan
Karnataka Shri Thaawarchand Gehlot
Kerala Shri Arif Mohammed Khan
Madhya Pradesh Shri Mangubhai Chhaganbhai Patel
Maharashtra Shri Ramesh Bais
Manipur Sushri Anusuiya Uikye
Meghalaya Shri Phagu Chauhan
Mizoram Dr. Kambhampati Haribabu
Nagaland Shri La. Ganesan
Odisha Shri Raghubar Das
Punjab Shri Banwarilal Purohit
Rajasthan Shri Kalraj Mishra
Sikkim Shri Lakshman Prasad Acharya
Tamil Nadu Shri R. N. Ravi
Telangana Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan
Tripura Shri Indra Sena Reddy Nallu
Uttar Pradesh Smt. Anandiben Patel
Uttarakhand Lt. Gen. Gurmit Singh, PVSM, UYSM, AVSM, VSM (Retd.)
West Bengal Dr. C.V. Ananda Bose


Also Read:-

List of Finance Ministers of India from 1947 to 2024: Complete Timeline and Political Affiliation

List of Governors of India Union Territories

List of Governors of India Union Territories
Union Territory Governor
Andaman and Nicobar Islands Admiral (Retd.) Devendra Kumar Joshi
Chandigarh Banwarilal Purohit
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Praful Khoda Patel
Lakshadweep Farooq Khan
Delhi Anil Baijal
Puducherry Tamilisai Soundararajan


First Governors of India

First Governors of India
State First Governor Term
Andhra Pradesh C. M. Trivedi 1953-1957
Assam Muhammad Saleh Akbar Hydari 1947-1948
Bihar Dr. Rajendra Prasad 1947-1948
Bombay (Now Maharashtra and Gujarat) Raja Maharaj Singh 1947-1948
Madhya Pradesh Dr. Kailash Nath Katju 1952-1957
Mysore (Now Karnataka) Jayachamarajendra Wadiyar 1949-1956
Orissa (Now Odisha) Asaf Ali 1947-1948
Punjab (Now Punjab, Haryana, and Chandigarh) Chandulal Madhavlal Trivedi 1947-1952
Rajasthan Sardar Hukam Singh 1948-1952
Uttar Pradesh Hormasji Peroshaw Mody 1947-1952


Appointment of the Governor:

The Governor is mentioned in Article 153 of the Constitution. In which it is said that there will be a Governor for each state. But by the Seventh Constitutional Amendment, it was added to the Constitution that a person can be the Governor of two or more states at the same time, the way we currently see that some Governors are also the Governor of two states. The Governor is appointed by the President of India. The Governor is appointed by the President of India for a term of 5 years.


Qualification of Governor:

If a person wants to become a Governor, then he must have the following qualifications:

  • That person should be a citizen of India.
  • To become a Governor the minimum age should be 35 years.
  • The Governor should not be holding any office of profit at the time of being elected to the post.
  • To be selected for the post of Governor, he must fulfill all the qualifications for a member of the State Legislative Assembly.


Powers of Governor in India

The Governor appoints the Chief Minister. The Council of Ministers is formed on the advice of the Chief Minister. And work only on the advice of the Council of Ministers. The Governor is the Chancellor of all the universities of the state. The Governor also appoints the Advocate General of the state, Chairman and members of the Public Service Commission. The Finance Bill cannot be presented in the Assembly without the permission of the Governor. No bill becomes law without the permission of the Governor. If the Governor wishes, he can stop the bill or return it or send it to the President. But if the bill is returned by the Governor and the same bill is passed by the Assembly without any amendment, then the Governor cannot stop that bill, he has to approve it.

Governor Salary in India

Governors of all states get a salary of Rs 3 lakh 50 thousand every month. Whereas, the Prime Minister gets a salary of Rs 1 lakh every month. Whereas, the President gets a salary of Rs 5 lakh and the Vice President gets Rs 4 lakh. Apart from salary, governors also get many types of allowances, which differ from state to state. They also get a leave allowance. If the Governor is on leave, he gets an allowance for it.  Allowance is also given for the care and maintenance of government accommodation. Besides, free medical care is also provided in central and state government hospitals.  Not only this, if the Governor needs vehicles for any work, he can hire them for free. He and his family also get a traveling allowance for vacation. Apart from all this, they get many other types of allowances.

Can a Governor be arrested or detained?

-Under Section 135 of the Code of Civil Procedure, the Prime Minister, Union Ministers, members of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, Chief Minister, members of the Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council are exempted from arrest. This exemption is only in civil cases. Not in criminal cases.  Under this section, if any member of Parliament or Assembly or Legislative Council is to be arrested or detained, then it is necessary to obtain approval from the Speaker or Chairman of the House. The section also says that no member can be arrested or detained 40 days before, during and 40 days after the session.  Not only this, no member can be arrested or detained even inside the Parliament premises or the Assembly premises or the Legislative Council premises, because the order of the Speaker or Chairman is in force. Since the Prime Minister is a member of the Parliament and the Chief Minister is a member of the Legislative Assembly or Legislative Council, the same rule applies to them also.

Whereas, under Article 361 of the Constitution, the President and the Governor have been given exemption. Under this, the President or any Governor cannot be arrested or detained while in office. No court can even issue any order against him. The President and the Governor have immunity in both civil and criminal cases. However, after leaving office he can be arrested or detained.


So this was all about the Governor of India. Governors play an important role in maintaining the communication and relations between the centre and the state. Their role becomes more important when both centre and state have different government they help to keep the coordination on track.





Also Read:-

List of Railway Ministers in India (1945-2024) | Tenure, Political Group, Political Affiliation

Leave a Comment

Floating Icons