Chief Ministers of States and UTs in India 2024: List, Tenure, Salary, and Appointment Process

Chief Ministers of States and UTs in India 2024: List, Tenure, Salary, and Appointment Process

Chief Ministers of States and UTs in India 2024


The Chief Minister is the head of the government in the States and is an important part of federalism in India. Today in this article we’ll discuss all the Chief ministers of India in different states along with their appointment procedure, salary and tenure. Chief minister is not directly elected but nominated by the party which has the highest number of MLAs in the state. Afterwards ,  the governor of the State appoints the nominated person as the Chief minister. The Chief Minister is the same as the Prime Minister on the state level. Let’s have a look at the Chief minister of different states in India.


Suggested Read:-

Cabinet Ministers of India 2024: Full List, Portfolios, and Responsibilities


List of CM of All States and UTs in India 2024:-

The following list of Chief ministers – CM of all States of India and UTs:

States/UT Chief Minister Took Office Tenure Length Party
Andhra Pradesh Y. S. Jagan Mohan Reddy 30 May 2019 4 years, 217 days YSR Congress Party
Arunachal Pradesh Pema Khandu 17 July 2016 7 years, 169 days Bharatiya Janata Party
Assam Himanta Biswa Sarma 10 May 2021 2 years, 237 days Sarma
Bihar Nitish Kumar 22 February 2015 8 years, 314 days Janata Dal (United)
Chhattisgarh Vishnu Deo Sai 13 December 2023 20 days Bharatiya Janata Party
Delhi Arvind Kejriwal 14 February 2015 8 years, 322 days Aam Aadmi Party
Goa Pramod Sawant 19 March 2019 4 years, 289 days Bharatiya Janata Party
Gujarat Bhupendra Bhai Patel 13 September 2021 2 years, 111 days Patel II
Haryana Manohar Lal Khattar 26 October 2014 9 years, 68 days Khattar II
Himachal Pradesh Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu 11 December 2022 1 year, 22 days Indian National Congress
Jammu and Kashmir Vacant (President rule) 19 June 2018 5 years, 197 days N/A
Jharkhand Hemant Soren 29 December 2019 4 years, 4 days Jharkhand Mukti Morcha
Karnataka Siddaramaiah 20 May 2023 227 days Indian National Congress
Kerala Pinarayi Vijayan 25 May 2016 7 years, 222 days Communist Party of India (Marxist)
Madhya Pradesh Mohan Yadav 13 December 2023 20 days Bharatiya Janata Party
Maharashtra Eknath Shinde 30 June 2022 1 year, 186 days Shiv Sena
Manipur N. Biren Singh 15 March 2017 6 years, 293 days Bharatiya Janata Party
Meghalaya Conrad Sangma 6 March 2018 5 years, 302 days National People’s Party
Mizoram Lalduhoma 8 December 2023 25 days Zoram People’s Movement
Nagaland Neiphiu Rio 8 March 2018 5 years, 300 days NDPP
Odisha Naveen Patnaik 5 March 2000 23 years, 303 days Biju Janata Dal
Puducherry N. Rangaswamy 7 May 2021 2 years, 240 days All India N.R. Congress
Punjab Bhagwant Singh Mann 16 March 2022 1 year, 292 days Aam Aadmi Party
Rajasthan Bhajan Lal Sharma 15 December 2023 18 days Bharatiya Janata Party
Sikkim Prem Singh Tamang 27 May 2019 4 years, 220 days Sikkim Krantikari Morcha
Tamil Nadu M. K. Stalin 7 May 2021 2 years, 240 days Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Telangana Revanth Reddy 7 December 2023 26 days Indian National Congress
Tripura Manik Saha 15 May 2022 1 year, 232 days Bharatiya Janata Party
Uttar Pradesh Yogi Adityanath 19 March 2017 6 years, 289 days Adityanath II
Uttarakhand Pushkar Singh Dhami 4 July 2021 2 years, 182 days Dhami II
West Bengal Mamata Banerjee 20 May 2011 12 years, 227 days All India Trinamool Congress


Salary of Chief Ministers of India

The salary of Chief Ministers of different states is not the same. The salary depends upon the population and economic conditions of the state. Which is why different chief ministers have different salaries in different states.

S. No. State and UT Salary (per month in Rs.)
1. Telangana Rs.410,000
2. Delhi Rs.390,000
3. Uttar Pradesh Rs.365,000
4. Maharashtra Rs.340,000
5. Andhra Pradesh Rs.335,000
6. Gujarat Rs.321,000
7. Himachal Pradesh Rs.310,000
8. Haryana Rs.288,000
9. Jharkhand Rs.272,000
10. Madhya Pradesh Rs.255,000
11. Chhattisgarh Rs.230,000
12. Punjab Rs.230,000
13. Goa Rs.220,000
14. Bihar Rs.215,000
15. West Bengal Rs.210,000
16. Tamil Nadu Rs.205,000
17. Karnataka Rs.200,000
18. Sikkim Rs.190,000
19. Kerala Rs.185,000
20. Rajasthan Rs.175,000
21. Uttarakhand Rs.175,000
22. Odisha Rs.160,000
23. Meghalaya Rs.150,000
24. Arunachal Pradesh Rs.133,000
25. Assam Rs.125,000
26. Manipur Rs.110,000
27. Nagaland Rs.110,000
28. Tripura Rs.105,0000


Appointment of Chief Minister Appointment of Chief Minister

  • Under Article 164, the Governor will be responsible for the appointment of the Chief Minister as the leader of the majority party in the State Assembly .
  • The Governor can use his personal discretion to appoint the Chief Minister from among the coalition government . Provided that the person moves a vote of confidence within one month.
  • A person who is not a member of the state assembly can also become the Chief Minister; Provided that he is elected to any State Legislature within six months.
  • The Chief Minister can be a member of either of the two Houses of the State Legislature.
  • The Chief Minister enjoys that post during the pleasure of the Governor and his tenure is not fixed.
  • The Chief Minister can be removed when he loses the majority support of the State Legislature.
  • The salary of the Chief Minister is determined by the state legislature.
  • The Governor is responsible for administering the oath of office to the Chief Minister.

Chief Minister ‘s tenure Term of the Chief Minister

  • The tenure of the Chief Minister is not predetermined, and he serves at the discretion of the Governor.
  • The Governor cannot remove him unless he has the confidence of the majority of the legislature .
  • If the state assembly passes a no-confidence motion on the Chief Minister, he can also be dismissed from the post.


So this was all about the Chief Ministers of States and UTs in India. They are an important cog of the state machinery and head the government at state level.


Leave a Comment

Floating Icons