Unleashing Power: Biggest Sixes in IPL History by Year

Biggest IPL Sixes by Years

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has been a spectacle of power-hitting and thrilling cricketing action since its inception in 2008. One of the most exhilarating aspects of the tournament is witnessing batsmen launching the ball into the stands with monstrous sixes. Over the years, IPL fans have been treated to some jaw-dropping displays of power hitting, with players consistently pushing the boundaries of how far they can send the cricket ball soaring.

From the towering strikes of Liam Livingstone in 2022 to the explosive hits of Albie Morkel back in 2008, each IPL season has seen its fair share of colossal sixes that have left spectators in awe. These mammoth hits not only add excitement to the game but also showcase the incredible skill and strength of the batsmen participating in the tournament.

Every year, fans eagerly anticipate witnessing batsmen vying to outdo each other in the quest to hit the biggest six of the season. Whether it’s the seasoned veterans like MS Dhoni and AB de Villiers or the rising stars like Ruturaj Gaikwad and Nicholas Pooran, each player strives to etch their name into IPL history by sending the ball sailing over the ropes with unmatched power and precision.

But hitting the biggest six isn’t just about sheer strength; it also requires impeccable timing, technique, and a keen understanding of the game situation. Batsmen must carefully assess the delivery, position themselves accordingly, and execute their shots with finesse to achieve maximum distance.

In this blog, we’ll take a captivating journey through the history of the IPL, highlighting the players who have unleashed the most colossal sixes in each season. From adrenaline-pumping last-over finishes to electrifying run chases, these towering hits have become an integral part of the IPL’s allure, captivating millions of fans across the globe.

So, buckle up as we delve into the world of power hitting and relive some of the most memorable moments from the IPL, where batsmen showcased their brute force and sent the ball soaring into the stands with unmatched ferocity. Get ready to witness the awe-inspiring feats of strength that have defined the IPL and left cricket enthusiasts spellbound season after season.

Biggest Six in IPL Year Wise

Year Player Name Team Distance (in meters)
2022 Liam Livingstone Punjab Kings 117
2021 Ruturaj Gaikwad Chennai Super Kings 108
2020 Nicholas Pooran Kings XI Punjab 106
2019 MS Dhoni Chennai Super Kings 111
2018 AB de Villiers Royal Challengers Bangalore 111
2017 Travis Head Royal Challengers Bangalore 109
2016 Ben Cutting Sunrisers Hyderabad 117
2015 AB de Villiers Royal Challengers Bangalore 108
2014 David Miller Kings XI Punjab 102
2013 Praveen Kumar Kings XI Punjab 124
2012 MS Dhoni Chennai Super Kings 112
2011 Adam Gilchrist Kings XI Punjab 122
2010 Robin Uthappa Royal Challengers Bangalore 120
2009 Yuvraj Singh Kings XI Punjab 119
2008 Albie Morkel Chennai Super Kings 125

Also Read:-

Leave a Comment

Floating Icons