Schengen Visa for Indians: New Schengen Visa Scheme for Indians

Schengen Visa

Schengen visa regime allows Indian passports to travel to the Schengen Area, comprising 26 European countries, for short stays of up to 90 days within 180 days for tourism, business, or family visits without the need for individual visas for each country. For the long term, the Schengen visa regime allows multi-year visas for up to 5 years. But Recently, a new Schengen visa scheme called Cascade for Indians was introduced. The European Union has introduced a cascade scheme for the Indians who are residents of India and applying for Schengen visas. In this scheme, Indian citizens get multiple entry visas with longer validity. Indians are eligible for long-term, multi-entry Schengen visas with extended validity. A person must have received and legitimately utilised two visas within the preceding three years to be eligible for a two-year visa. Then, if there is still enough time on their passport, they may usually get a five-year visa. It brings relief to the Indian citizens who are living in Schengen. In addition, during the validity period of visa visa holders can also get travel rights to those of visa-free nations. In simple terms, they can enter and exit Schengen countries multiple times without any separate visa. There is no restriction on visa and visa validity.

This good news was recently approved by the European Commission on the 18th of April. It is a special shift from the traditional visa code regulation to a new one for Indian nationals. It will attract more Indians to the country. The new visa scheme is introduced to enhance the cooperation between the two regions. Hopefully, it will strengthen the relationship between the EU and India in various areas. Eliminating the hectic visa process will definitely increase the Indian population in the EU nations.

Schengen visa holders allow to travel in the Schengen Area, which includes 22 European Union (EU) member states and four non-EU countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

If you are interested in getting the Schengen Visa, this is the right time. Indian citizens can apply for the Schengen for various purposes, including tourism, business meetings, conferences, visiting family or friends, medical treatment, and cultural or sports events.



Schengen Visa Types:-

There are different kinds of Schengen visas, and each one defines the area where you can visit within the Schengen area. 

Unified Schengen Visa (USV):

With the Unified Schengen Visa (USV), you are able to travel to all of the member states that make up the Schengen area. Unified Schengen visas come in two varieties that specify how long you can stay in Schengen nations. Both varieties are classified as unified Schengen visas.

  • Category A (Schengen Airport Transit Visa): This type of visa can only be used to travel through airports inside the Schengen region; it cannot be used to enter any location outside of the airport.
  • Category C (Short Stay): Gives the bearer a maximum 90-day stay within 180 days while visiting Schengen nations. One of the following scenarios determines how many entries into the Schengen Area are allowed when a (Category – C) visa is issued:

One Time Entry

Double entry (two times).

Multiple login

Limited Territorial Validity Visa (LTV):

This type of visa lets you access a single Schengen nation or a subset of Schengen nations, but it does not allow entry to the entire Schengen area. But now Indians will get access to all the Schengen area.

National visa:

It is a long-stay visa (Category – D) and allows you to enter a specific Schengen country instead of the entire Schengen area. It also allows you to stay in this country for more than 90 days.


How To Get a Schengen Visa?

Getting a Schengen visa for an Indian involves several steps. You need to require careful planning and preparation. Here are the detailed guidelines to get the Schengen Visa-

  1. First, decide the purpose of your visit to the Schengen Area like travel, business, family visits etc. Also, decide the duration of your stay according to your purpose so you can determine the type of visa you need to apply for.
  2. Now, decide on the main Schengen country. Well, according to the latest data, you will get access to all Schengen areas but still decide on the main Schengen country you want to visit and spend time in.
  3. Visit the official website of the embassy of the Schengen country to check the visa requirement according to your purpose of travel.
  4. Download and fill out the Schengen visa application form accurately. Make sure to provide all the information correctly that matches the passport. If there is any error, there are chances of rejection.
  5. Collect all the required documents for your application like
  • Valid passport with two blank pages
  • Completed visa application form.
  • Passport-sized photographs as per specified requirements.
  • Travel itinerary, including flight reservations and accommodation bookings.
  • Proof of financials that cover your expenses during your stay.
  • Travel insurance covers medical expenses and repatriation.
  • Additional documents depending on the purpose of your trip (e.g., invitation letter, business documents, etc.).
  1. Depending on the embassy’s requirements, you need to schedule your appointment for the interview. You have to bring your view application and document with you.
  2. On the scheduled date, submit your visa application along with all required documents at the embassy of the Schengen country you are applying to.
  3. You also need to pay the applicable visa fee. Visa fees vary depending on the type of visa and your age.
  4. Attend the interview on the scheduled date as part of the visa application process. Make sure to prepare for the interview with the basic questions about your travel plans, financial situation, and other relevant details.
  5. Wait for the visa process and visa approval.
  6. Once your visa application is approved, collect your passport with the visa stamp from the embassy.  
  7. The Schengen visa is in your hand, get ready to take flight.

If you feel this process is hectic, you can hire a visa consultant for an easy process.


Also Read:-

Leave a Comment

Floating Icons