Modi Government Union Ministers Who Lost 2024 Polls: Smriti Irani To Rajeev Chandrasekhar

Modi Government Union Ministers Who Lost 2024 Polls:

The 2024 Lok Sabha elections witnessed several high-profile defeats, including incumbent Union Ministers who lost their seats. These losses not only reshaped the political landscape but also raised questions about the performance and popularity of established leaders. In this article, we delve into the electoral outcomes for Union Ministers across different states, analyzing the margins, opponents, and implications of their defeats.

Table: Union Ministers’ Defeats in the 2024 Lok Sabha Elections

Union Minister Constituency Party Opponent Margin of Defeat
Smriti Irani Amethi, UP BJP Kishori Lal Sharma 1,67,196 votes
Arjun Munda Khunti, Jharkhand BJP Kalicharan Munda 1,49,675 votes
Ajay Mishra Teni Lakhimpur Kheri, UP BJP Utkarsh Verma 34,329 votes
Kailash Choudhary Barmer, Rajasthan BJP Ummeda Ram Beniwal 4.48 lakh votes
Rajeev Chandrasekhar Thiruvananthapuram, KL BJP Shashi Tharoor 16,077 votes
Mahendra Nath Pandey Chandauli, UP BJP Lost Seat
Kaushal Kishore Mohanlalganj, UP BJP RK Chaudhary (SP) 70,292 votes
Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti Fatehpur, UP BJP Lost Seat
Rao Saheb Danve Jalna, Maharashtra BJP Kalyan Vaijnath Kale
RK Singh Arrah, Bihar BJP Sudama Prasad (CPI)
Sanjeev Balyan Muzaffarnagar, UP BJP Harendra Singh Malik 24,000 votes
V Muraleedharan Thiruvananthapuram, KL BJP Lost Seat
L Murugan Nilgiris, TN BJP A Raja (DMK) 2,40,585 votes
Subhas Sarkar Bankura, WB BJP Arup Chakraborty (TMC) 32,778 votes
Nishith Pramanik Cooch Behar, WB BJP Jagadish Chandra Basunia (TMC) 39,000 votes
(More Ministers) (Various Constituencies) (BJP) (Various Opponents) (Various Margins)


  1. Smriti Irani’s Loss in Amethi: Irani’s defeat to Congress candidate Kishori Lal Sharma by a significant margin marked the end of an era in Amethi. Her previous victory over Rahul Gandhi in 2019 had turned the constituency into a BJP bastion briefly.
  2. Arjun Munda’s Setback in Khunti: Union Tribal Affairs Minister Arjun Munda faced a crushing defeat in Jharkhand’s Khunti constituency. The loss to Congress candidate Kalicharan Munda highlighted the changing dynamics of tribal politics in the state.
  3. Ajay Mishra Teni’s Defeat in Lakhimpur Kheri: Embroiled in the controversial Lakhimpur Kheri incident, Ajay Mishra Teni’s loss to the Samajwadi Party’s Utkarsh Verma underscored the impact of local issues on electoral outcomes.
  4. Kailash Choudhary’s Third-Place Finish in Barmer: Minister of State for Agriculture Kailash Choudhary’s third-place finish in Rajasthan’s Barmer constituency signaled a shift in voter preferences and dissatisfaction with the incumbent.
  5. Rajeev Chandrasekhar’s Loss in Thiruvananthapuram: Despite being a Union Minister of State, Rajeev Chandrasekhar’s defeat to Congress stalwart Shashi Tharoor highlighted the BJP’s struggles in Kerala and the South.
  6. Overall BJP Setbacks: The BJP’s setbacks were not limited to these prominent figures. Several other Union Ministers, including Mahendra Nath Pandey, Kaushal Kishore, Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti, Sanjeev Balyan, and others, faced defeats in their respective constituencies, reflecting a broader trend of anti-incumbency or local factors influencing voter decisions.



The defeats of Union Ministers in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections underscore the dynamic nature of Indian politics and the importance of local issues, alliances, and candidate selection. These electoral outcomes serve as a reminder for political parties to reassess their strategies and connect with voters on grassroots issues effectively.


Leave a Comment

Floating Icons