Maharashtra Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Phase 2: Date, Candidates, and Constituencies l Voting on 8 Seats

Maharashtra Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Phase 2

Maharashtra’s eight Lok Sabha constituencies will go to polls in the second phase of the 2024 elections on April 26. These constituencies include Buldhana, Akola, Amravati, Wardha, Yavatmal-Washim, Hingoli, Nanded, and Parbhani. This phase is significant, as it includes key seats that could shape the political landscape of the state and influence national politics.


The National Democratic Alliance (NDA), comprising the BJP and undivided Shiv Sena, had won seven of these eight seats in the 2019 elections. The BJP secured victories in Akola, Wardha, and Nanded, while the undivided Shiv Sena won from Buldhana, Yavatmal-Washim, Hingoli, and Parbhani. Amravati was won by Navneet Kaur Rana, who was an Independent candidate in 2019 but has since joined the BJP.


List of Key Constituencies and Candidates:-

Maharashtra Lok Sabha Elections 2024  NDA   INDIA
Akola Anup Dhotre Abhay Kashinath Patil
Buldhana Prataprao Ganpatrao Jadhav Narendra Khedekar
Amravati Navneet Kaur Rana Balwant Basawant Wankhede
Wardha Ramdas Tadas Amar Sharadrao Kale
Yavatmal – Washim Rajashri Hemant Patil Sanjay Deshmukh
Hingoli Baburao Kadam Kohalikar Nagesh Patil Ashtikar
Nanded Prataprao Chikhalikar Vasantrao Chavan
Parbhani Mahadev Jankar Sanjay Haribhau Jadhav

 Key Constituencies and Candidates:

– Akola: In Akola, Anup Dhotre from NDA faces off against Abhay Kashinath Patil from the Indian National Development Inclusive Alliance (INDIA).

– Buldhana: NDA’s Prataprao Ganpatrao Jadhav is competing against INDIA’s Narendra Khedekar.

– Amravati: The contest in Amravati is between Navneet Kaur Rana from NDA and Balwant Basawant Wankhede from INDIA.

– Wardha: Ramdas Tadas from NDA is up against Amar Sharadrao Kale from INDIA.

– Yavatmal-Washim: Rajashri Hemant Patil from NDA is facing Sanjay Deshmukh from INDIA.

– Hingoli: NDA’s Baburao Kadam Kohalikar is competing against Nagesh Patil Ashtikar from INDIA.

– Nanded: Prataprao Chikhalikar from NDA is contesting against Vasantrao Chavan from INDIA.

– Parbhani: Mahadev Jankar from NDA is up against Sanjay Haribhau Jadhav from INDIA.




Focus on Nanded and Amravati:


The Nanded constituency is a traditional stronghold of the Congress party. However, in recent times, the BJP has gained strength, especially after the induction of former Congress leader Ashok Chavan. Chavan, who has held the post of Chief Minister of Maharashtra twice, joined the BJP earlier this year. The BJP hopes to retain the seat with sitting MP Pratap Patil Chikhalikar running against INDIA’s Vasant Chavan. Prakash Ambedkar-led Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA) is also in the fray with Avinash Bhosikar, which may lead to a division of anti-BJP votes.


Navneet Rana, who ran as an Independent in 2019, is now with the BJP and is contesting against Balwant Basawant Wankhede from INDIA. Rana had defeated Shiv Sena candidate and former Union minister Anandrao Adsul in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. This time, the contest is expected to be fierce.




Importance of the Maharashtra Lok Sabha Election 2024:

The 2024 Lok Sabha elections hold great importance for Maharashtra and the rest of India. The outcomes from key constituencies like Amravati and Nanded will be closely watched, as they can provide insight into the political direction of the state and influence national politics.


Maharashtra has a history of political diversity and strong regional leadership. The state has traditionally seen fierce competition between major parties like the BJP, Congress, and regional players. The results of the 2024 elections will play a crucial role in shaping the balance of power in the Lok Sabha and the future of Maharashtra’s political landscape.


Voters in the state have the opportunity to make a difference by casting their votes for the candidates and parties they believe will best represent their interests. The intense competition and high stakes make the 2024 Lok Sabha elections a pivotal moment in Maharashtra’s political history.




In conclusion, the second phase of the 2024 Lok Sabha Elections in Maharashtra is set to be a closely watched and highly competitive race. The outcomes from key constituencies like Amravati and Nanded, along with the other six seats, will shape the political landscape of the state and have a significant impact on the future of Indian politics. Voters are encouraged to participate actively in the democratic process by exercising their right to vote and making their voices heard.


Also Read:-

Leave a Comment

Floating Icons