Kolkata Knight Riders Win IPL 2024: Historic Third Championship Victory l IPL 2024 Champions

Kolkata Knight Riders Win IPL 2024

Kolkata Knight Riders have finally won the seventeenth edition of the Indian Premier League. Today the final of IPL 2024 was played at Ma Chidambaram Stadium Chennai. Kolkata Knight Riders totally dominated the Sunrisers Hyderabad with their outstanding bowling attack. KKR has won its third trophy of Indian Premier League now. Back in 2012 Kolkata Knight Riders have won their first IPL trophy in the Chepauk Stadium itself now they have repeated the history by winning their third trophy again in Chepauk Stadium. Kolkata knight riders won their second trophy in 2014. SRH was looking forward to winning its second trophy after lodging their first win way back in 2016. However this time KKR won the trophy easily. Let’s have a look at highlights of the KKR vs SRH IPL 2024 Final match.


Match Info
Match KKR vs SRH, Final, IPL 2024
Date Sunday, May 26, 2024
Toss SRH won, chose to bat
Time 7:30 PM
Venue MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
Umpires Nitin Menon, Jayaraman Madanagopal
Third Umpire Michael Gough
Match Referee Manu Nayar



Also Read:-

IPL 2024 Final: Kolkata Knight Riders Win Third IPL Championship After 10 Years


KKR vs SRH Toss

 The toss for the IPL 2024 Finale between Kolkata and Hyderabad was conducted at 7:00 PM where the SRH captain Pat Cummins won the toss and decided to bat first leaving the bowling for KKR. Cummins said that the pitch is favourable to batsmen and they’ll be looking forward to putting a high score up on the scoreboard like they have put up all season long.




KKR vs SRH 1st Innings highlights IPL 2024 Final

 With choosing to bat first Abhishek Sharma and Travis Head opened for the Sunrisers Hyderabad however both of them had to go back to pavilion very early due to the destructive bowling of Kolkata. Kolkata bowlers stepped on the field with an attacking mindset and started dominating the match early on . Mitchell Starc brought in the first wicket for the team after that Hyderabad’s batting order started to fall like Dominoes.  Andre Russell was the best attacker as he managed to take 3 wickets in 2.3 over by giving just 19 runs. All the from Kolkata were able to take wickets where Mitchell Starc and Rana took 2 wickets each and remaining bowler’s took one wicket each. Owing to the dominating bowling attack from Kolkata Knight Riders Hyderabad got bowled out at mere 113 runs leaving the easy target of 114 runs for Kolkata. Below is the details for complete first innings.

Batting Runs



Balls Faced






Strike Rate




A. Sharma
2 5 0 0 40.0
b Mitchell Starc

T. Head
0 1 0 0 0.0
c Rahmanullah Gurbaz b Vaibhav Arora

R. Tripathi
9 13 1 0 69.23
c Ramandeep Singh b Mitchell Starc

A. Markram
20 23 3 0 86.96
c Mitchell Starc b Andre Russell

N. K. Reddy
13 10 1 1 130.0
c Rahmanullah Gurbaz b Harshit Rana

H. Klaasen (Wk)
16 17 1 0 94.12
b Harshit Rana

S. Ahmed
8 7 0 1 114.29
c Sunil Narine b Varun Chakaravarthy

A. Samad (IP)
4 4 0 0 100.0
c Rahmanullah Gurbaz b Andre Russell

P. Cummins (C)
24 19 2 1 126.32
c Mitchell Starc b Andre Russell

J. Unadkat
4 11 0 0 36.36
lbw b Sunil Narine

B. Kumar
0 1 0 0 0.0
not out
Extras 13 (W 6, B 5, LB 2)
Total runs 113 (10 wkts, 18.3 ov)
Yet to bat


T. Natarajan



Fall of Wickets

2/1 (A. Sharma, 0.5 ov) · 6/2 (T. Head, 2.0 ov) · 21/3 (R. Tripathi, 4.2 ov) · 47/4 (N. K. Reddy, 7.0 ov) · 62/5 (A. Markram, 10.2 ov) · 71/6 (S. Ahmed, 11.5 ov) · 77/7 (A. Samad, 12.4 ov) · 90/8 (H. Klaasen, 14.1 ov) · 113/9 (J. Unadkat, 17.5 ov) · 113/10 (P. Cummins, 18.3 ov)


Bowling Overs




Runs Given





Economy Rate



M. Starc
3.0 0 14 2 4.67

V. Arora
3.0 0 24 1 8.0

H. Rana
4.0 1 24 2 6.0

S. Narine
4.0 0 16 1 4.0

A. Russell
2.3 0 19 3 7.6

V. Chakaravarthy
2.0 0 9 1 4.5




KKR vs SRH second innings highlights IPL 2024 finals


Chasing the easy target of 114 runs R Gurbaz and Sunil Narine opened for Kolkata they were off to a good start until the early dismissal of Sunil Narine by Hyderabad captain Pat Cummins. However the situation was still in Kolkata’s favour as Venkatesh Iyer and Gurbaz made a stable partnership and was able to score 45 runs in 3 overs gaining the control of the match in their hand. Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s spells became a bit expensive giving 25 runs of 2 overs providing Kolkata a winning edge




Kolkata Knight Riders 2nd Innings

Batter R B 4s 6s SR
Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk) 39 32 5 2 121.88
Sunil Narine 6 20 1 0 30.00
Venkatesh Iyer 52 26 4 3 200.00
Shreyas Iyer (c) 6 3 1 0 200.00
Extras 11
Total 114-2 (10.3 Ov)

Extras Breakdown

  • b: 4
  • lb: 2
  • w: 5
  • nb: 0
  • p: 0



IPL Winners List from 2008 to 2024[Updated List]:-

Year Winner Runner Up Final Match Venue Teams Player of the Series
2024 Kolkata Knight Riders Sunrisers Hyderabad Chennai 10 TBA
2023 Chennai Super Kings Gujarat Titians  Ahmedabad 10 Shubman Gill
2022 Gujarat Titans Rajasthan Royals Ahmedabad 10 If Buttler
2021 Chennai Super Kings Kolkata Knight Riders Dubai 8 Harshal Patel
2020 Mumbai Indians Delhi Capitals Dubai 8 Jofra Archer
2019 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Hyderabad 8 Andre Russell
2018 Chennai Super Kings Sunrisers Hyderabad Mumbai 8 Sunil Narine
2017 Mumbai Indians Rising Pune Supergiants Hyderabad 8 Ben Stokes
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers Bangalore Bangalore 8 Virat Kohli
2015 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Kolkata 8 Andre Russell
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab Bangalore 8 Glenn Maxwell
2013 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Kolkata 9 Shane Watson
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings Chennai 9 Sunil Narine
2011 Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore Chennai 10 Chris Gayle
2010 Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians Mumbai 8 Sachin Tendulkar
2009 Deccan Chargers Royal Challengers Bangalore Johhanesburg 8 Adam Gilchrist
2008 Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings Mumbai 8 Shane Watson






So the seventeenth edition of the Indian Premier League has finally come to an end with an electrifying win by Kolkata Knight Riders. The team owner Sharukh Khan along with Juhi Chawla, Suhana Khan and Ananya Pandey was seen celebrating the win of their team. Shreyas Iyer showed impeccable captaincy this season winning Kolkata their third trophy. Coach Gautam Gambhir was also seen celebrating and it showed how happy he was seeing his  team win the third trophy. It was under Gambhir’s captaincy that KKR has won their last two trophies and he has worked hard this season also to win the IPL 2024 cup.

Leave a Comment

Floating Icons