ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Host Countries: A Journey from 2007 to 2030

icc t20 world cup host country list

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup (formerly known as ICC World Twenty20) is the international championship of Twenty20 International cricket. The tournament is organised by cricket’s governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC). It is a tournament that is held every year. In the biennial tournament, which will run from June 4 to 30 and will be hosted by the West Indies and the USA, 20 teams will play 55 matches across 10 venues. 

For 2024, the ICC T20 World Cup hosting country is the US and West Indies. The three US cities are Dallas, Florida and New York and for the West Indies, seven Caribbean countries are selected named Ancient, Barbados, Dominica, Guyana, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Trinidad and Tobago. This city was recently announced by the ICC chief executive Geoff Allardyce in a press release. Well, the press release did not mention which venues will host the knockout matches. Here Guyana, Barbados and Trinidad and Tobago will host the Super Eight matches and the Final. The last ICC T20 World Cup will be held in the UAE and Oman in 2021. Let’s check out the ICC T20 World Cup Host Country List: From 2007 to 2024.

Also Read:-

India T20 World Cup 2024 Squad Announced: Complete Player List and Surprising Selections



ICC T20 World Cup Host Countries List from 2007 to 2030:-

Here’s a table representing the T20 World Cup from 2007 to 2030:

Year No. Dates Host Country Final Location Winners
2030 12 TBD England, Ireland, & Scotland TBD TBD
2028 11 TBD Australia & New Zealand TBD TBD
2026 10 TBD India & Sri Lanka TBD TBD
2024 9 TBD USA & West Indies TBD TBD
2022 8 16 Oct – 13 Nov Australia Melbourne Cricket Ground England
2021 7 17 Oct – 14 Nov UAE & Oman Dubai International Stadium Australia
2016 6 8 Mar – 3 April India Eden Gardens West Indies
2014 5 16 Mar – 6 April Bangladesh Sher-e-Bangla Stadium Sri Lanka
2012 4 18 Sept – 7 Oct Sri Lanka R Premadasa Stadium West Indies
2010 3 30 April – 16 May West Indies Kensington Oval England
2009 2 5 June – 21 June England Lord’s Cricket Ground Pakistan
2007 1 11-24 Sept South Africa Wanderers Stadium India



T20 World Cup 2024 Host – West Indies & United States

The tournament of 2024 is yet to begin on the 4 June.


T20 World Cup 2022 Host – Australia

After the postponement of the tournament from 2020 to 2022, Australia hosted the ICC T20 World Cup 2022. This tournament is a big success in cricket. The main league began on 16 October and the final was held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). During T20 World Cup 2022, there were only 16 teams who played several matches.


T20 World Cup 2021 Host – UAE and Oman

In 2021, due to the ongoing impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ICC T20 World Cup was rescheduled to the UAE and Oman. Initially, it was supposed to happen in India. The tournament was played on October 17 and ended on November 14 and was held at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.


T20 World Cup 2016 Host – India

India hosted the sixth ICC T20 World Cup from March 8 to April 3, 2016.  Matches were held in several stadiums across India. The most iconic Eden Gardens in Kolkata hosted the final. 


T20 World Cup 2014 Host – Bangladesh 

The fifth edition of the ICC T20 World Cup was held in Bangladesh. It was played from March 16 to April 6, 2014. Matches were played at several venues across the country. The most famous Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka hosted the final. During this tournament, Sri Lanka won over India.


T20 World Cup 2012 Host – Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka played host to the fourth ICC T20 World Cup. The match was played from September 18 to October 7, 2012. The final match was held at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo and the rest matches were organised at several stadiums in Sri Lanka. It was a tournament won by the West Indies over Sri Lanka in the final to claim their first T20 World Cup title.


T20 World Cup 2010 Host – West Indies

The third ICC T20 World Cup was hosted by the West Indies. The match was played from April 30 to May 16, 2010. West Indies organised matches at different venues and the last match or final match was held at the Kensington Oval in Barbados. England won the tournament over Australia and won the first T20 World Cup title.


T20 World Cup 2009 Host – England

The second edition of the ICC T20 World Cup was hosted by the England. The tournament was played from June 5 to June 21, 2009. They also organised matches at several stadiums and the final match was held at the Cricket Ground in London. In the ICC T20 World Cup 2009, Pakistan won the tournament over Sri Lanka and claimed their first T20 World Cup title.


T20 World Cup 2007 Host – South Africa

The inaugural ICC T20 World Cup was held in South Africa. It was the first edition of the T20 World Cup. The tournament began on September 11 and ended on September 24, 2007. This tournament marked the first time that Twenty20 cricket was showcased on the global stage. The final was held at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg. In the tournament, India won over Pakistan.



The ICC T20 World Cup has been hosted by several cricketing nations over the years. It is a tournament that is scheduled to be played every two years. Every year, it is hosted by different countries. However, all the countries want to host the ICC T20 World Cup because it showcases the global appeal and popularity of the shortest format of the game. Each host country provides its unique flavour and hospitality for the players, audience and fans because every venue has its own culture and technology. As you already know the list of ICC T20 World Cup hosting countries list so you can their flavour and hospitality. With each edition, the T20 World Cup continues to attract cricket fans around the world and every year the excitement and drama are increasing.


Leave a Comment

Floating Icons