Hyderabad Metro Route Map 2024: History, Timings, Lines, Facts & Stations List

Hyderabad Metro

Hyderabad Metro is a truly ahead-of-its-time mass rapid transit system that started its functions in 2017. It has been serving the people of Hyderabad and the capital of Telangana in the best of ways. It is easy, comfortable and safe to travel in. The construction has been divided into two phases; Phase 1 of construction is about to be completed while heavy planning and liberation are going on in Phase 2, which will connect the city to the main airport. All the trains are made up of six coaches. The maximum speed of the trains is 80 km/h. Nearly 5,00,00 people use the Hyderabad Metro every day. Ticket prices for Hyderabad Metro are reasonable, starting from ₹10 and going up to ₹60. But if you don’t want the hassle of buying a ticket, every day, smart cards are also available. Recharge for smart cards starts from ₹50 and goes up to ₹3000. The Metro service is owned by Larsen & Toubro and the Government of Telangana. Trains start running at six in the morning and the last train goes at 11 PM. Headquarters of Hyderabad Metro are in Begumpet. 

Also read:

Hyderabad International Airport: Luxury, Efficiency & Fun | How to Reach, Check-In & Relax



Overview of Hyderabad Metro


Name Hyderabad Metro
Owner Hyderabad Metro Rail Limited (HMRL)
Number of Lines Three lines are fully operational

One line is under construction

Line number * Red Line – 1
* Blue Line – 3
* Green Line – 2
Number of Station 58
Character Fully elevated
Estimated Cost 14,132 crore approx
Date of operation 29 Nov 2017
Average speed 35-40km/h
Top speed 80km/h

Also read:


Mumbai Metro Route Map 2024: Station List, Lines, Timings & Facts

History of Hyderabad Metro


The plan to create a metro system in Hyderabad was introduced in the year 2003. Due to massive organisation, traffic became a common problem and it was decided that a Metro system would solve the issue immensely. The project only began in the year 2017. The inauguration was done by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, along with the chief minister of Telangana. The ceremony happened at the Miyapur Metro Station in Hyderabad. The responsibility of bringing the project to life was given to Hyderabad Metro Rail Limited (HMRL), a public-private partnership between the Government of Telangana and L&T Metro Rail (Hyderabad) Limited (LTMRHL), a subsidiary of Larsen & Toubro Limited. The Red Line and Blue Line were completed as a part of Phase 1 and service started on the same day as the inauguration. 

Also read:


Delhi Metro Route Map 2024: Fare, Timings, Lines, Facts & Stations

Metro Lines 


  1. Red Line (operational): This was the first line that was made in Hyderabad. It goes from Miyapur to LB Nagar. A distance of 29 kilometres is covered with the help of 27 stations. It takes you to some of the most important and popular places in Hyderabad like Ameerpet, Punjagutta, Begumpet, Secunderabad, and Dilsukhnagar.
  2. Blue Line (operational): This line was constructed after red, making it the second line to be made in Hyderabad. It stretches from Nagole to Raidurg and covers an area of around 28 kilometres with the help of 23 stations. This line links you with significant places such as Uppal, Tarnaka, Secunderabad, Ameerpet, and Jubilee Hills. 
  3. Green Line (operational): The Green Line is not as long as the other two operational lines. It goes from JBS (Jubilee Bus Station) to MGBS (Mahatma Gandhi Bus Station). The distance covered by this line is 11 kilometres with the help of 9 stations. The main motive behind creating this line was to improve connectivity between the major bus terminals of the city. 
  4. Purple Line (under construction): This line will also be called the Corridor 2 or East-West corridor. A distance of 15 kilometres will be covered from BHEL to LB Nagar with the help of 14 stations.
  5. Pink Line (under construction): This line will also be known as the Corridor 3 or Nagole-Shilparamam Line. It will run from Nagole to Shilparamam, covering a distance of 30 kilometres with the help of 29 stations. Areas like Hitec City, Raidurg, and Gachibowli will be linked by this line.  


A lot of planning is going on not only for the creation of new lines but also for the expansion of existing lines. This will only increase connectivity between the city and help the residents travel easily.


There are a lot of fun facts about Hyderabad Metro. The system is very efficient and environmentally friendly. Almost 1,00,00 L of rainwater is harvested, and a ton of waste is recycled annually. This is the only Metro system in India, which has a mascot. The mascot is called Niz which is short for Nizam. The Central Government awarded this metro system with the Best Urban Mass Transit Project in India title in 2018. It covers over 200 km of railway tracks, making it the second longest system after the Delhi Metro.

Leave a Comment

Floating Icons