Chennai North Lok Sabha Election 2024 Result

Chennai North Lok Sabha Election 2024 Results

Here in this article we are going to shed light on the 2024 Lok Sabha election result of Chennai North. Today, the Election Commission of India finally declared the Chennai North Lok Sabha election result for 2024. The election took place on 19th April 2024 in Tamil Nadu. As per the outcomes, the (……) party has won by (……) seats. Chennai North is one of the 3 constituencies of Chennai. Its parliamentary constituency number is 2 of 39 constituencies of Tamil Nadu. Here are 4 major parties contested against one another, namely Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam(DMK), Naam Tamilar Ktchi (NTK), All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK). Let’s explore the results of the General elections of Chennai North in 2024.


Poll event Phase
Notification Date 20 March
The last Date for filing a nomination 27 March
Scrutiny of nomination 28 March
Last Date for withdrawal of nomination 30 March
Date of poll 19 April
Date of counting of votes/Result 4 June 2024
No. of constituencies 39


Result for  Chennai North Lok Sabha election 2024:

Dr. Kalanidhi Veeraswamy was contesting on behalf of Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam. Simultaneously, R.C. Paul Kanagaraj was standing for the Bharatiya Janata Party. On the other side Amuthini Jayaprakash was the candidate from Naam Tamilar Katchi. And R.Manohar was contesting on behalf of AIADMK. As per the declaration given by the Election Commission of India, (…..) won the Chennai South MP seat with (…..) votes.



Major parties in Chennai North:

As mentioned above, 4 major parties stand against one another in Chennai. Bharatiya Janata Party, AIADMK, DMK, NTK. Bharatiya Janata Party is one of the major political parties in India parallel to the Indian National Congress. However AIADMK is an Indian regional political party that influences Tamil Nadu and the Union territory of Puducherry. It is a Dravidian party, and the foundation of it was laid by the former chief minister of Tamil Nadu, M.G Ramachandran, at Madurai on 17th October 1972. 


On the other hand, Dravida Munnetra Kzhagam is an Indian political party of Tamil Nadu, which it is the ruling party and the union territory of Puducherry. Similarly, Naam Tamilar Katchi is a Tamil nationalist party among Indian states of Tamil Nadu.


Chennai North Lok Sabha constituencies and candidates:

Dr. Kalanidhi Veeraswamy, contesting from Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, is primarily a doctor by profession. Later, he became an Indian politician when he was elected to Lok Sabha, the lower house of the parliament of India, from Chennai North, Tamil Nadu, in the 2019 Indian general election as a member of DMK. His father, Arcot N. Veeraswamy, was a former electricity and Health minister in Tamil Nadu.


Manohar is another lok sabha election candidate in Chennai North From the AIADMK party. By profession, he is professionally a businessman and owns a company named Sanmuga Transport Pvt Ltd and Sanmuga Trading Pvt. Ltd.



The next candidate is R.C. Paul Kanagaraj, who was contesting on behalf of the Bharatiya Janata Party, is an advocate by profession and later became a politician.


Party Candidate Votes % ±%
DMK Dr. Kalanidhi Veeraswamy
AIADMK R. Manohar
NTK Amuthini Jayaprakash
BJP R C. Paul Kanagaraj
NOTA None of the Above
Margin of victory
Registered electors
gain from


2019 Chennai North Lok Sabha election results:

In the 2019 general election of Lok Sabha in Chennai North, Dr Kalanidhi Veeraswamy from DMK won by 62.03% votes. Whereas R. Mohanraj from DMDK (Desiya Morpokku Dravida Kazhagam) was below DMK with 13.59%. A.G Mourya from Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM, an Indian regional political party in Tamil Nadu and Union Territory of Puducherry, founded by Kamal Hasan in 2018) got 10.83%. P. Kaliyammal from NTK got 6.35%. Lastly, the independent party and NOTA received 3.49% and 1.65%, respectively. The overall turnout, as per the Election Commission of India, was 64.04%.



The general elections of 2024 have come to an end now. The wait has ended for the citizens of India. The (….) party is ready to create a government in India. It has secured (….)seats in the Lok Sabha. Soon we are going to witness the oath ceremony of this new government.


Leave a Comment

Floating Icons