Bihar Lok Sabha Election Phase 5: Key Constituencies and Candidates

Bihar Lok Sabha Election Phase 5

The Bihar Lok Sabha elections are one of the most crucial parts of India’s general elections in 2024. Bihar is among the few states voting in all seven phases of the elections, similar to Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal. The election process in Bihar started on April 19 and will continue until June 1, aiming to elect 40 representatives to the 18th Lok Sabha. The results will be announced on June 4.

In the fifth phase, voting will occur in five key constituencies: Sitamarhi, Madhubani, Muzaffarpur, Saran, and Hajipur. These areas are expected to witness intense competition among candidates from different political parties.



Must Read:-


Constituencies Wise Candidate List for Bihar Lok Sabha Election Phase 5

Constituency Candidates
Sitamarhi Arjun Rai (RJD), Devesh Chandra Thakur (JDU)
Madhubani Ali Ashraf Fatmi (RJD), Ashok Kumar Yadav (BJP)
Muzaffarpur Ajay Nishad (INC), Raj Bhusan Nishad (BJP)
Saran Rohini Acharya (RJD), Rajiv Pratap Rudy (BJP)
Hajipur Shiv Chandra Ram (RJD), Chirag Paswan (LJP)




Also Read:-

Jharkhand Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Phase 5
West Bengal Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 5
Odisha Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 5
Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Phase 5
Maharashtra Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Phase 5



Key Constituencies and Candidates


In Sitamarhi, the competition is between Arjun Rai from the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) representing the IN.D.I.A alliance, and Devesh Chandra Thakur of the Janata Dal United (JDU), aligned with the National Democratic Alliance (NDA).



Madhubani will see a fierce contest as Ali Ashraf Fatmi from the RJD, part of the IN.D.I.A alliance, competes against Ashok Kumar Yadav of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), representing the NDA.


In Muzaffarpur, the battle features Ajay Nishad from the Indian National Congress (INC) challenging Raj Bhusan Nishad of the BJP. Ajay Nishad is a former BJP candidate who switched to the Congress, making this contest particularly interesting.


Saran is another critical constituency where Rohini Acharya of the RJD, part of the IN.D.I.A alliance, faces off against Rajiv Pratap Rudy from the BJP. Rohini Acharya is the daughter of RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav, marking her foray into politics against an established BJP candidate.


Hajipur’s electoral landscape is also heating up as Shiv Chandra Ram from the RJD takes on Chirag Paswan of the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) under the RV faction. Chirag Paswan’s father, the late Ram Vilas Paswan, represented Hajipur a record eight times, making this a significant seat for the Paswan family.




Political Context

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Janata Dal (United), and the Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas) are the key parties of the NDA in Bihar contesting the polls. The IN.D.I.A (Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance) bloc includes Congress and the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD).

The election dynamics in Bihar are influenced by the state’s diverse political landscape, with caste and community factors playing significant roles. The results in these key constituencies could shape the political trajectory of Bihar and potentially impact national politics.




Notable Battles

Saran: A Battle of Legacies

Saran is one of the most crucial seats in Bihar. RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav’s daughter, Rohini Acharya, is making her political debut here, challenging incumbent BJP MP Rajiv Pratap Rudy. Rudy defeated Rohini’s mother and former Bihar Chief Minister Rabri Devi in 2014. The constituency, formerly known as Chapra, has a history of being a stronghold for Lalu Prasad, who represented it four times.

Hajipur: The Paswan Legacy

In Hajipur, Chirag Paswan of the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) is contesting against his uncle Pashupati Kumar Paras, who currently represents the constituency. This seat holds emotional significance as Chirag’s father, the late Ram Vilas Paswan, represented Hajipur a record eight times. Winning this seat is crucial for Chirag Paswan to uphold his father’s legacy.


Muzaffarpur: A Turncoat Challenge

Muzaffarpur features an interesting battle where Ajay Nishad, formerly of the BJP and now with the Congress, is challenging BJP’s Raj Bhushan Chaudhary. Ajay Nishad had previously won this seat as a BJP candidate, making this contest a compelling watch as he now represents the Congress.



Voter Turnout and Previous Phases

The fourth phase of elections saw over 62% voter turnout across 96 constituencies in 10 states and Union territories. Bihar recorded a 57.06% voter turnout in the fourth phase. The five constituencies that voted on May 13 were Darbhanga, Ujiarpur, Samastipur, Begusarai, and Munger.




Importance of Phase 5

The fifth phase of voting in Bihar is critical as it covers key constituencies with significant political and historical relevance. The outcomes here will not only influence the state’s representation in the Lok Sabha but also reflect broader political trends in Bihar.





The Bihar Lok Sabha elections 2024 are a crucial part of India’s democratic process, with intense battles in key constituencies like Sitamarhi, Madhubani, Muzaffarpur, Saran, and Hajipur. Each constituency presents unique political dynamics and influential candidates, making this phase particularly important. The results will provide insights into the political mood of Bihar and could have significant implications for both state and national politics.

Leave a Comment

Floating Icons