Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Phase 5: Key Candidates and Constituencies

Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Phase 5: Key Candidates and 49 Constituencies List

Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Phase 5 is all set to be conducted on 20 May 2024. Under this phase, the voting will be conducted in Maharashtra, Bihar, Jammu & Kashmir, Jharkhand, Ladakh, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.  Lok Sabha Elections or General Election 2024 is going on to select the members of the 18th Lok Sabha. The election is scheduled in 7 Phases for an easy election process and a better democratic process.  Lok Sabha Elections Phase 5 is coming soon after a few days on 20 May 2024. The fate of 695 candidates will be sealed when people from 49 constituencies vote on the Phase 5.  Here is the detailed election schedule released in March 2024 for phase by the Election Commission as follows-




Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 5 Overview:-

Detail Information
Date of Polling May 20, 2024
States and Union Territories Involved Bihar, Jammu & Kashmir, Jharkhand, Ladakh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal
Number of Constituencies 49
Total Nomination Forms Received 1586
Valid Nominations After Scrutiny 749
Final Contesting Candidates 695


This phase will cover the various range of constituencies. Each state and union territory has its unique political dynamics.


Complete List of 49 Lok Sabha Constituency Voting in Phase 5


  • Constituencies: 5 named Muzaffarpur, Madhubani, Hajipur, Sitamarhi, Saran
  • Nominations Received: 164
  • Final Contesting Candidates: 80




Jammu & Kashmir

  • Constituencies: 1 named Baramulla
  • Nominations Received: 38
  • Final Contesting Candidates: 22



  • Constituencies: 3 named Chatra, Kodarma, Hazaribagh
  • Nominations Received: 148
  • Final Contesting Candidates: 54



  • Constituencies: 1 named Ladakh
  • Nominations Received: 8
  • Final Contesting Candidates: 3





  • Constituencies: 13 named Mumbai North, Mumbai North-West, Mumbai North-East, Mumbai North-Central, Mumbai South-Central, Mumbai South, Thane, Kalyan, Palghar, Dhule, Dindori, Nashik, Bhiwandi
  • Nominations Received: 512
  • Final Contesting Candidates: 264



  • Constituencies: 5 named Bargarh, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal, Aska
  • Nominations Received: 87
  • Final Contesting Candidates: 40


Uttar Pradesh

  • Constituencies: 14 named Lucknow, Amethi, Raebareli, Mohanlalganj, Jalaun, Jhansi, Hamirpur, Banda, Kaushambi, Fatehpur, Gonda,. Barabanki, Faizabad, Kaiserganj
  • Nominations Received: 466
  • Final Contesting Candidates: 144



West Bengal

  • Constituencies: 7 named Howrah, Hooghly, Arambagh, Bangaon, Barrackpur, Srerampur, Uluberia
  • Nominations Received: 163
  • Final Contesting Candidates: 88


Among all, Maharashtra has the highest number of constituencies in the Phase 5. Hence major battles are expected in key areas like Mumbai, Pune, and Nagpur. Uttar Pradesh also holds the highest constituency and gives major battles in Lucknow and Varanasi.




Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Phase 5: Key Candidates

  • Rahul Gandhi: Rahul Gandhi from the Congress party is a candidate for the Rae Bareli seat. His mother, Sonia Gandhi holds a stronger position in the party. In addition, Rahul is already a candidate for Lok Sabha from Kerala; ‘s Wayant seat in 2019. 
  • Smriti Irani: Smriti Irani from the BJP is a candidate from Amethi, Uttar Pradesh. Amethi was a stronghold of the Congress party before Smriti Iraon won the Lok Sabha Election in 2019. He won against the Congress leader Rahul Gandhi. Now, Smriti Irani is fighting against the Congress candidate Kishori Lal Sharma, who has been loyal to the Gandhi family for a long time. This is the third time when Smriti Irani is representing the BJP. Once, she lost against Rahul Gandhi in 2014 by 1 lakh votes. The second time, she won by 55,000 votes. Now, it is the third time.
  • Rajnath Singh: Rajnath Singh from the BJP party is a candidate for Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh. He is fighting against the Samajwadi Party candidate Ravidas Mehrotra. This is the third time he has stood for the seat. At first, he won and defeated SP’s Poonam Shatrughan Sinha with 6.3 lakh votes in 2019. In second, he won and defeated Congress candidate Rita Bahuguna Joshi with 2,72,749 votes in 2014. Now, this is the third time for him and there is a higher probability that he will get the seat.
  • Karan Bhushan Singh: Karan Bhushan Singh, who is the son of Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh is a candidate from Kaiserganj, Uttar Pradesh. He replaced Brij Bhushan for the BJP party. Brij Bhushan is accused of many criminal cases, so he is replaced with his son, who is the President of the Uttar Pradesh Wrestling Association and the Chairman of a Cooperative Bank in the Gonda district. We can’t predict whether he will get the seat or not.
  • Rohini Acharya: Rohini Acharya is a candidate from Saran Bihar, She is an RJD leader and daughter of former Bihar chief minister, Lalu Prasad. She is fighting against the  BJP’s Rajiv Pratap Rudy who won the Lok Sabha elections twice in the year 2014 and 2019. In 204, BJP’s Rajiv Pratap Rudy won by defeating the former CM Rabri Devi and in 2019, he defeated Chandrika Rai, father-in-law of Lalu’s son Tej Pratap Yadav. There is a higher probability of getting a seat by him.
  • Chirag Paswan: Chirag Paswan is a candidate from Hajipur, Bihar. He is the national president of the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) and will be elected in the Lok Sabha elections in 2024. He is fighting against the RJD’s Chandra Ram. In 2014, the late Ramvilas Paswan got the seat and In 2019, Pashupati Kumar Paras won the seat by 5 lakh votes.
  • Piyush Goyal: Piyush Goyal from the BJP party is a candidate from the Mumbai North. This is the first time Piyush Goyal has been elected to the Lok Sabha 2024. Piyush Goyal replaced Gopal Shetty who represented the constituency from the BJP party. 
  • Arvind Sawant: Arvind Sawant is a candidate from Mumbai South, Maharashtra. He is MP and Shiv Sena UBT leader twice, He is fighting against Yamini Jadhav, a CM Shinde-led Shiv Sena leader.
  • Ujjwal Nikam: Ujjwal Nikam from the BJP party is a candidate from the Mumbai North-Central. Ujjwal Nikam replaced Poonam Mahajan for the party. 
  • Omar Abdullah: Omar Abdullah is a candidate from Baramulla, Jammu and Kashmir. He is the National Conference vice-president and is now campaigning for the Lok Sabha 2024 seat. He is fighting against Fayaz Ahmad Mir who is in the Jammu and Kashmir People’s Democratic Party and Sajjad Gani Lone who is Jammu and Kashmir People’s Conference.


Leave a Comment

Floating Icons