Basirhat Lok Sabha Election Result 2024

Basirhat, a prominent Lok Sabha constituency and town situated on the banks of the Ichamati River in West Bengal, has emerged as a significant political battleground in Indian politics. Renowned for its rich cultural heritage and historical significance, Basirhat reflects the diverse demographic composition and political dynamics of the region. The 2024 Lok Sabha elections in Basirhat witnessed a keenly contested battle among key political contenders, each vying for electoral success and the opportunity to represent the aspirations of the people effectively.

Historical Context and Political Landscape

Since its inception, Basirhat has been a focal point of political activity and influence in West Bengal. From the dual-member Lok Sabha constituency in the early years to the subsequent dominance of the Communist Party of India (CPI) from 1980 to 2004, Basirhat has witnessed a diverse array of political affiliations and electoral outcomes. The emergence of the Trinamool Congress (TMC) in 2009 marked a significant shift in the political landscape, ushering in a new era of electoral dynamics and contestations.

Previous Elections and Electoral Dynamics

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the Trinamool Congress fielded Bengali actor Nusrat Jahan, who secured a resounding victory with a decisive margin of votes. The Bharatiya Janata Party’s Sayantan Basu emerged as the closest contender, while the Congress candidate trailed behind. The impressive voter turnout of 85.42% underscored the active engagement of the electorate in the democratic process and their enthusiasm to exercise their franchise.

2019 Election Results:

Candidate Party Votes Vote Share (%)
Nusrat Jahan Ruhi TMC 782,078 XX.XX
Sayantan Basu BJP 431,709 XX.XX
Kaji Abdur Rahim Congress 104,183 XX.XX

2024 Election: Key Candidates and Voter Turnout

For the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, prominent candidates included Haji Nurul Islam from the All India Trinamool Congress (TMC), Smt. Rekha Patra from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and Nirapada Sardar from the Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI(M))). The election, held on June 1st, 2024, witnessed an impressive voter turnout of 82.81%, indicative of the electorate’s enthusiasm and commitment to participating in the democratic process.

2024 Candidates:

  • Haji Nurul Islam (TMC)
  • Smt. Rekha Patra (BJP)
  • Nirapada Sardar (CPI(M))

Election Results and Analysis

The 2024 Lok Sabha election results in Basirhat reaffirmed the dominance of the Trinamool Congress in the constituency. Haji Nurul Islam secured a resounding victory, consolidating TMC’s hold over the seat. Despite a spirited challenge from the BJP and CPI(M), TMC’s organizational strength and mass appeal played a decisive role in shaping the electoral outcome.

2024 Election Results:

Candidate Party Votes Vote Share (%)
Haji Nurul Islam TMC XXX,XXX XX.XX
Smt. Rekha Patra BJP XXX,XXX XX.XX
Nirapada Sardar CPI(M) XXX,XXX XX.XX
Others Various XXX,XXX XX.XX


The Basirhat Lok Sabha election 2024 reaffirmed TMC’s supremacy in the constituency, with Haji Nurul Islam emerging victorious once again. The election results underscored the electorate’s trust in TMC’s leadership and its commitment to addressing the needs and aspirations of the people of Basirhat. As the elected representative, Haji Nurul Islam faces the task of fulfilling his electoral promises and working towards the holistic development of the constituency. Basirhat remains a crucial political arena, emblematic of the dynamic nature of West Bengal’s political landscape and the vibrant democratic ethos of the region.

Leave a Comment

Floating Icons