West Bengal Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 7: Key Constituencies and Candidates

WB lok sabha 2024

As the Lok Sabha Elections 2024 draw to a close, West Bengal gears up for Phase 7, where nine crucial Lok Sabha constituencies will go to polls. These constituencies – Barasat, Basirhat, Diamond Harbour, Dum Dum, Jaynagar, Jadavpur, Kolkata Dakshin, Kolkata Uttar, and Mathurapur – hold immense significance in shaping the political landscape of the state. Among them, Barasat, Diamond Harbour, Kolkata Dakshin, and Jadavpur are poised for high-voltage electoral battles.


Also read:


Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 7: Key Constituencies and Candidates

Key Constituencies and Candidates in West Bengal Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 7:-

Constituency BJP Candidate TMC Candidate Other Significant Candidates
Barasat Rekha Patra Haji Nurul Islam
Diamond Harbour Abhijit Das Abhishek Banerjee Pratikur Rahaman
Jadavpur Anirban Ganguly Saayoni Ghosh Srijan Bhattacharya
Kolkata Uttar Tapas Roy Sudip Bandyopadhyay
Kolkata Dakshin Debashree Chaudhary Mala Roy


Suggested read:

Bihar Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 7: Key Constituencies, Candidates, and Electoral Dynamics


West Bengal Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 7: Key Candidates to Watch

  • Barasat:
    • TMC: Haji Nurul Islam
    • BJP: Rekha Patra
  • Diamond Harbour:
    • TMC: Abhishek Banerjee
    • BJP: Abhijit Das
    • CPI(M): Pratikur Rahaman
  • Jadavpur:
    • TMC: Saayoni Ghosh
    • BJP: Anirban Ganguly
    • CPI(M): Srijan Bhattacharya
  • Kolkata Uttar:
    • TMC: Sudip Bandyopadhyay
    • BJP: Tapas Roy
  • Kolkata Dakshin:
    • TMC: Mala Roy
    • BJP: Debashree Chaudhary

In West Bengal’s Phase 7 Lok Sabha Election 2024, these candidates are crucial to watch, representing major political parties in key constituencies.


Barasat: Known for communal tensions and border infiltration issues, Basirhat witnesses tough contests between the Trinamool Congress (TMC) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). BJP’s Rekha Patra, a housewife from Sandeshkhali, represents a strong statement for the women of Bengal, contesting against TMC’s Haji Nurul Islam.

Diamond Harbour: Abhishek Banerjee, Mamata Banerjee’s nephew and TMC leader, seeks re-election from Diamond Harbour, facing challenges from CPI(M)’s Pratikur Rahaman and BJP’s Abhijit Das.


Jadavpur: A high-profile seat with intellectual and urban voters, Jadavpur witnesses contests between TMC, BJP, and CPI(M). This time, CPI(M)’s Srijan Bhattacharya, TMC’s Saayoni Ghosh, and BJP’s Anirban Ganguly lock horns in a three-cornered contest.

Kolkata Uttar: Known for its urban electorate, Kolkata Uttar sees fierce contests between TMC and BJP. BJP’s Tapas Roy challenges TMC’s Sudip Bandyopadhyay on issues of urban development and governance.

Kolkata Dakshin: This constituency has been pivotal in West Bengal’s political discourse. TMC’s Mala Roy competes against BJP’s Debashree Chaudhary, vying for the support of the electorate.

Suggested read:


Himachal Pradesh Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 7: Key Constituencies and Candidates

Major Battles:-

Clash in Barasat: TMC’s Haji Nurul Islam vs. BJP’s Rekha Patra:

The battle between TMC’s Haji Nurul Islam and BJP’s Rekha Patra in Barasat symbolizes the clash between the ruling party’s stronghold and the BJP’s efforts to expand its footprint in West Bengal. With Barasat historically leaning towards TMC, BJP’s nomination of Rekha Patra, a prominent figure from the region, adds intrigue to the electoral dynamics.


Battle Royale: Diamond Harbour’s TMC vs. BJP vs. CPI(M)

The contest in Diamond Harbour, featuring TMC’s Abhishek Banerjee, CPI(M)’s Pratikur Rahaman, and BJP’s Abhijit Das, epitomizes the struggle for dominance in a key TMC bastion. Banerjee’s familial ties and incumbency advantage, coupled with BJP’s aggressive campaign, set the stage for an intense electoral showdown.



Jadavpur Showdown: TMC’s Saayoni Ghosh vs. BJP’s Anirban Ganguly vs. CPI(M)’s Srijan Bhattacharya

Jadavpur witnesses a fierce three-way battle between TMC’s Saayoni Ghosh, BJP’s Anirban Ganguly, and CPI(M)’s Srijan Bhattacharya. This constituency, known for its intellectual and urban electorate, presents a complex electoral landscape. The contest reflects ideological confrontations and aspirations of diverse voter segments, making it a battleground of ideologies.


Kolkata Uttar Face-Off: TMC’s Sudip Bandyopadhyay vs. BJP’s Tapas Roy

Kolkata Uttar’s electoral battle between TMC’s Sudip Bandyopadhyay and BJP’s Tapas Roy underscores the clash of urban-centric governance models. As a symbol of urban development, this constituency highlights the contrasting visions of governance offered by the major political players.



Kolkata Dakshin Showdown: TMC’s Mala Roy vs. BJP’s Debashree Chaudhary

The electoral duel in Kolkata Dakshin between TMC’s Mala Roy and BJP’s Debashree Chaudhary signifies the struggle for supremacy in a politically significant urban constituency. With urban issues at the forefront, the contest reflects the electorate’s demands for effective governance and development initiatives.





In the final phase of the Lok Sabha Elections 2024, West Bengal witnesses gripping electoral battles, with each constituency reflecting the diverse socio-political dynamics of the state. As voters head to the polls, their choices will determine the future trajectory of West Bengal’s political landscape.

Leave a Comment

Floating Icons