Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Phase 5: Key Candidates and 49 Constituencies List

Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Phase 5: Key Candidates and 49 Constituencies List

As the Lok Sabha elections progress, Phase 5 is set to determine the fate of 695 candidates across 49 constituencies in six states and two Union territories on May 20. This phase encompasses regions in Maharashtra, Bihar, Jammu & Kashmir, Jharkhand, Ladakh, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal.

In Maharashtra, 13 Lok Sabha constituencies, including Mumbai and its surrounding areas like Thane, Palghar, and Nashik, are up for voting. Uttar Pradesh contributes 14 constituencies, notably Lucknow, Amethi, and Raebareli. West Bengal presents 7 constituencies, including Howrah and Hooghly. Bihar offers 5 constituencies, including Muzaffarpur and Saran.

The Union territories also play a pivotal role. Jammu and Kashmir present the Baramulla constituency, while Ladakh offers its single constituency. Additionally, Jharkhand brings forth 3 constituencies, including Chatra and Hazaribagh, and Odisha offers 5 constituencies, including Bargarh and Sundargarh.


Among the key candidates in Phase 5 are Rahul Gandhi contesting from Rae Bareli, Smriti Irani from Amethi, and Rajnath Singh from Lucknow. Karan Bhushan Singh competes from Kaiserganj, while Rohini Acharya represents Saran in Bihar. Chirag Paswan is a prominent candidate in Hajipur, and Piyush Goyal contests from Mumbai North.

Arvind Sawant represents Mumbai South, while Ujjwal Nikam contests from Mumbai North-Central. Omar Abdullah is a significant candidate from Baramulla, Jammu and Kashmir. These elections mark a crucial phase in India’s democratic process, shaping the future of representation and governance across diverse regions of the country.




Full List of 49 Lok Sabha constituency voting in Phase 5:


Maharashtra: 13 Lok Sabha constituencies 

1. Mumbai North

2. Mumbai North-West

3. Mumbai North-East


4. Mumbai North-Central

5. Mumbai South-Central

6. Mumbai South

7. Thane


8. Kalyan

9. Palghar

10. Dhule

11. Dindori


12. Nashik

13. Bhiwandi


 Uttar Pradesh: 14 Lok Sabha constituencies

1. Lucknow


2. Amethi

3. Raebareli

4. Mohanlalganj

5. Jalaun


6. Jhansi

7. Hamirpur

8. Banda

9. Kaushambi


10. Fatehpur

11. Gonda

12. Barabanki

13. Faizabad


14. Kaiserganj


West Bengal: 7 Lok Sabha constituencies

1. Howrah

2. Hooghly


3. Arambagh

4. Bangaon

5. Barrackpur

6. Srerampur


7. Uluberia


Bihar: 5 Lok Sabha constituencies

1. Muzaffarpur

2. Madhubani


3. Hajipur

4. Sitamarhi

5. Saran



Jammu and Kashmir (UT): 1 Lok Sabha constituency

1. Baramulla


Ladakh (UT): 1 Lok Sabha constituency

1. Ladakh



Jharkhand: 3 Lok Sabha constituencies

1. Chatra

2. Kodarma

3. Hazaribagh




Odisha: 5 Lok sabha constituencies

1. Bargarh

2. Sundargarh

3. Bolangir


4. Kandhamal

5. Aska




Lok Sabha elections 2024 Phase 5: Key Candidates

  1. Rahul Gandhi (Rae Bareli, UP): Rahul Gandhi, representing Congress, contests from Rae Bareli, the family stronghold. He previously won from Kerala’s Wayanad in 2019. BJP fields Dinesh Pratap Singh against him.
  2. Smriti Irani (Amethi, UP): BJP’s Smriti Irani, who defeated Rahul Gandhi in 2019, competes against Congress’ Kishori Lal Sharma in Amethi. It’s her third election from Amethi.
  3. Rajnath Singh (Lucknow, UP): Rajnath Singh, BJP, faces Ravidas Mehrotra from Samajwadi Party in Lucknow. He won with huge margins in 2014 and 2019.
  4. Karan Bhushan Singh (Kaiserganj, UP): Son of Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh, Karan Bhushan Singh, contests from Kaiserganj. He replaces his father, facing allegations. He’s a UP Wrestling Association President.
  5. Rohini Acharya (Saran, Bihar): RJD’s Rohini Acharya, Lalu Prasad’s daughter, competes against BJP’s Rajiv Pratap Rudy in Saran. Rudy won in 2014 and 2019.
  6. Chirag Paswan (Hajipur, Bihar): LJP’s Chirag Paswan competes against RJD’s Chandra Ram in Hajipur. In 2019, Pashupati Kumar Paras won the seat.
  7. Piyush Goyal (Mumbai North): BJP’s Piyush Goyal contests from Mumbai North against Congress’ Bhushan Patil, replacing Gopal Shetty.
  8. Arvind Sawant (Mumbai South, Maharashtra): Shiv Sena’s Arvind Sawant, a two-time MP, competes against CM Shinde’s ally Yamini Jadhav.
  9. Ujjwal Nikam (Mumbai North-Central): BJP’s Ujjwal Nikam replaces Poonam Mahajan, facing Congress’ Varsha Gaikwad.
  10. Omar Abdullah (Baramulla, J&K): National Conference’s Omar Abdullah competes against PDP’s Fayaz Ahmad Mir and PC’s Sajjad Gani Lone.



As Phase 5 of the Lok Sabha elections concludes, it marks a significant milestone in India’s democratic journey. With 49 constituencies across several states and Union territories casting their votes, the fate of 695 candidates hangs in the balance. From Maharashtra to West Bengal, from Uttar Pradesh to Jammu and Kashmir, voters have exercised their right to choose their representatives.

This phase witnessed the participation of key candidates like Rahul Gandhi, Smriti Irani, and Rajnath Singh, among others, each vying for victory in their respective constituencies. The outcome of these elections will not only determine the political landscape of these regions but also have far-reaching implications for the nation as a whole.

The participation of voters from diverse backgrounds, regions, and communities underscores the essence of democracy in India. It reflects the commitment of the people to actively engage in the electoral process and shape the future of their country. Regardless of their political affiliations or preferences, citizens have come together to fulfill their civic duty and make their voices heard.


As the ballots are cast and the results awaited, it is essential to acknowledge the efforts of election authorities, security personnel, and all those involved in conducting free, fair, and peaceful elections. Their dedication ensures the integrity of the electoral process and upholds the democratic values enshrined in the Constitution.

Ultimately, the elections are a celebration of democracy, a testament to the strength of India’s democratic institutions, and a reminder of the power vested in the hands of the people. Regardless of the outcome, the spirit of democracy will endure, paving the way for a brighter and more inclusive future for all citizens of the nation.

Leave a Comment

Floating Icons