Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Phase 2: Key Candidates and Constituencies Across 13 States

Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Phase 2 Candidates

The Lok Sabha Elections for 2024 are a significant event in India’s political landscape, as they determine the composition of the lower house of Parliament. These elections take place in multiple phases across different states. The second phase of voting, scheduled for April 26, 2024, will involve 89 constituencies across 13 states. This phase is particularly important as it includes key seats in major states such as Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, and West Bengal. Here’s a comprehensive overview of the key constituencies and candidates in these states:



In Assam, five Lok Sabha seats are up for grabs in the second phase, including Karimganj, Silchar, Mangaldoi, Nawgong, and Kaliabor. The political battle in Assam is mainly between the BJP, Congress, and AIUDF (All India United Democratic Front). Some of the key candidates include Kripanath Mallah (BJP) in Karimganj and Rashid Ahmed Choudhary (Congress) facing off against him. In Silchar, Parimal Suklabaidya (BJP) competes against Surjya Kant Sarkar (Congress).




Bihar will see voting in five key constituencies: Kishanganj, Purnia, Katihar, Bhagalpur, and Banka. In Kishanganj, Mujahid Alam (BJP) faces Mohammad Javed (Congress). Purnia’s race features Santosh Kumar Kushwaha (BJP) against Beema Bharti (RJD). The elections in Bihar are marked by the alliance between Congress and RJD taking on the BJP.




Chhattisgarh will hold elections for three seats: Rajnandgaon, Mahasamund, and Kanker. The main focus is on Rajnandgaon, where former chief minister and Congress leader Bhupesh Baghel is up against Santosh Pandey of the BJP. The BJP has held this seat since 2009, making the contest particularly intense.




Karnataka has 14 Lok Sabha seats up for grabs in this phase, including intense contests in Bangalore Rural, Bangalore North, Bangalore Central, Bangalore South, Hassan, Mandya, and Mysore. Key candidates include Tejasvi Surya (BJP) in Bangalore South and HD Kumaraswamy (JDS) in Mandya. The state has a mix of BJP, Congress, and JDS (Janata Dal Secular) candidates, creating interesting dynamics.




Kerala will hold elections for all 20 of its seats in this phase. The spotlight is on Wayanad, where Rahul Gandhi (Congress) is up against CPI’s Annie Raja and BJP’s K Surendran. Thrissur is another important battleground with actor-turned-politician Suresh Gopi (BJP) facing K Muraleedharan (Congress) and VS Sunil Kumar (CPI-M).



Madhya Pradesh

In Madhya Pradesh, seven constituencies will see voting in this phase. Key seats include Hoshangabad, Morena, and Tikamgarh. The main contest is between BJP and Congress, with each party fielding strong candidates in the state.




Maharashtra has eight seats going to polls in this phase, including Buldhana, Akola, Amravati, Wardha, Yavatmal-Washim, Hingoli, Nanded, and Parbhani. Navneet Rana, who had run-ins with former chief minister Uddhav Thackeray, is contesting from Amravati as a BJP candidate. In Nanded, the BJP is hoping to succeed with former Congress chief minister Ashok Chavan switching sides.




Rajasthan’s voting in this phase involves 12 constituencies, including Tonk-Sawai Madhopur, Ajmer, Pali, Jodhpur, Barmer, Jalore, Udaipur, Banswara, Chittorgarh, Rajsamand, Bhilwara, Kota, and Jhalawar-Baran. Key figures include Union Minister Gajendra Singh Shekhawat (BJP) contesting in Jodhpur, and Ashok Gehlot’s son Vaibhav Gehlot running from Jalore.



Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh is another key state in this phase, with eight seats going to polls: Amroha, Meerut, Baghpat, Ghaziabad, Gautam Budh Nagar, Aligarh, Mathura, and Bulandshahr. In Meerut, Ramayana’s Arun Govil is contesting as a BJP candidate, while actor Hema Malini is running from Mathura.



West Bengal

In West Bengal, voters will decide on three seats: Darjeeling, Balurghat, and Raiganj. In Balurghat, BJP’s state chief Sukanta Majumdar is up against TMC’s Biplab Mitra. Darjeeling is expected to see a close contest between Raju Bista (BJP) and TMC’s Gopal Lama.

The elections in this phase will significantly impact the political landscape in India, shaping the future governance of the country. Voters across these states play a crucial role in deciding the leadership of the country, making their choices essential for the nation’s democracy. The outcomes of this phase will provide insights into the direction of the upcoming government and the balance of power in Parliament.

Leave a Comment

Floating Icons