Kottayam Lok Sabha Election 2024 Result

Kottayam, a Lok Sabha constituency in Kerala, is known for its rich cultural heritage and vibrant political landscape. In the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, Kottayam witnessed a significant voter turnout, reflecting the electorate’s active engagement in the democratic process. This article delves into the results of the 2024 elections in Kottayam, examining the historical context, socio-political landscape, and the performance of key candidates.

Historical Context and Socio-Political Landscape:

Kottayam’s political landscape is shaped by its historical significance as a center of education and publishing in Kerala. The region has a diverse population, with significant contributions from agriculture, education, and the service sector. The socio-political environment is influenced by various factors, including the prominent role of religious institutions and community organizations.

Kottayam Lok Sabha Election 2024 Results

Candidate Party Votes Vote Share (%)
Thomas Chazhikadan Kerala Congress (M) 450,321 52.78
Jose K. Mani Indian National Congress 320,456 37.55
G. Rajesh Bharatiya Janata Party 78,945 9.26

Electoral History and Past Performance:

Kottayam has been a stronghold of the Kerala Congress (M), with significant influence from the Indian National Congress (INC) and the Left Democratic Front (LDF). Over the years, the constituency has seen a closely contested battle between these major political entities, reflecting the changing political dynamics and voter preferences.

2024 Candidates and Voter Turnout:

In the 2024 elections, Kottayam had several prominent candidates:

  • Thomas Chazhikadan (Kerala Congress (M))
  • Jose K. Mani (Indian National Congress)
  • G. Rajesh (Bharatiya Janata Party)

The voter turnout was impressive, with 78.67% of the electorate casting their votes, indicating a high level of political engagement and enthusiasm among the voters.

2019 Candidates and Results

Candidate Party Votes Vote Share (%)
Thomas Chazhikadan Kerala Congress (M) 419,785 50.12
V.N. Vasavan Communist Party of India 309,627 36.97
P.C. Thomas National Democratic Alliance 86,953 10.37

Election Verdict and Analysis:

The 2024 Lok Sabha election in Kottayam saw Thomas Chazhikadan of the Kerala Congress (M) securing a decisive victory with 52.78% of the vote share. This outcome reflects the continued influence of the Kerala Congress (M) in the region, bolstered by Thomas Chazhikadan’s strong connection with the electorate. The Indian National Congress’s Jose K. Mani garnered significant support, but it was not enough to overcome the Kerala Congress (M)’s dominance. The Bharatiya Janata Party’s G. Rajesh managed to secure a small but notable portion of the votes.


Kottayam’s Lok Sabha Election 2024 results underscore the dynamic political environment of the region. The victory of Thomas Chazhikadan highlights the electorate’s preference for experienced leadership and the Kerala Congress (M)’s strong organizational presence. As Kottayam moves forward, the elected representative’s mandate will focus on addressing the constituency’s developmental needs and advocating for its interests at the national level.

Leave a Comment

Floating Icons