Jajpur Lok Sabha Election 2024 Results

Jajpur, a constituency in Odisha, is known for its rich historical and cultural heritage. With the 2024 Lok Sabha elections approaching, the political atmosphere in Jajpur is charged with excitement and anticipation. This article delves into the socio-political landscape, electoral history, and current candidates vying for the Jajpur Lok Sabha seat, providing a comprehensive overview of the constituency’s electoral dynamics.


Historical Context and Socio-Political Landscape

Jajpur, part of Odisha’s 21 Lok Sabha constituencies, has a deep-rooted historical significance. The region is famous for its ancient temples and the sacred Vaitarani River. Politically, Jajpur has seen representation from multiple parties over the years, reflecting a dynamic political landscape. The constituency is reserved for Scheduled Castes and includes seven assembly segments: Binjharpur, Bari, Barchana, Dharmasala, Jajpur, Korei, and Sukinda.

Jajpur Lok Sabha Election 2024 Results

The 2024 elections in Jajpur are critical, with major political parties fielding strong candidates. Below is the list of candidates contesting this year:

Candidate Name Party
Sarmistha Sethi BJD
Rabindra Narayan Behera BJP
Anchal Das INC
Er Sandhya Rani Mallick BSP
Binod Kumar Jena GNASURKP
Subash Chandra Mallik SUCI
Bidyadhar Dalei APOI
Mantu Sethi JANDP
Jhuna Malik MLSD
Arttatrana Malik IND
Bhairaba Prasad IND
Narendra Malika IND
Sumanta Malik IND

Electoral History and Past Performance

Jajpur has seen a mix of victories from the Indian National Congress (INC), Biju Janata Dal (BJD), and other parties. In the 2019 elections, BJD’s Sarmistha Sethi won with 544,020 votes, defeating BJP’s Amiya Kanta Mallick who secured 442,327 votes. The electoral performance of Jajpur in past elections is illustrated below:

Year Winner Party Votes Runner-Up Party Votes
2019 Sarmistha Sethi BJD 544,020 Amiya Kanta Mallick BJP 442,327
2014 Rita Tarai BJD 541,349 Ashok Das INC 221,078
2009 Mohan Jena BJD 437,409 Ashok Das INC 312,354

2024 Candidates and Voter Turnout

The 2024 elections see a diverse set of candidates from various political backgrounds. The voter turnout in Jajpur has been relatively high, indicating strong political engagement among the populace. The voter turnout and candidates’ data for the 2024 elections are as follows:

Year Total Voters Turnout % Main Candidates Party Votes
2024 1,200,000 Sarmistha Sethi BJD
Rabindra Narayan Behera BJP
Anchal Das INC

2019 Candidates and Results

In 2019, the main candidates were from BJD, BJP, and INC. The results were as follows:

Candidate Name Party Votes Percentage
Sarmistha Sethi BJD 544,020 49.8%
Amiya Kanta Mallick BJP 442,327 40.5%
Manas Jena INC 83,321 7.6%

Election Verdict and Analysis

The 2019 election results showed a strong preference for BJD in Jajpur, with Sarmistha Sethi winning by a significant margin. The BJP also performed well but could not close the gap. The 2024 elections are expected to be competitive, with voter preferences possibly influenced by local issues and party performance at the state level.



Jajpur’s political landscape is both dynamic and historically rich. The upcoming 2024 Lok Sabha elections will be a crucial determinant of the region’s political future. With a diverse array of candidates and significant voter engagement, the election results will reflect the evolving political sentiments of the constituency.

Leave a Comment

Floating Icons