IPL 2024 Award Winners and Season Recap: Champions, Award Winners, and Highlights

IPL 2024 Award Winners and Season Recap: Champions, Award Winners, and Highlights

The 2024 IPL season was a thrilling spectacle. It is the world’s most expensive cricket tournament which came to an end. On Sunday, Kolkata won the title of winner of the IPL 2024 season after defeating the Sunrisers Hyderabad. This was a one-sided match, where Sunrisers Hyderabad was all out with the lowest-ever runs in an IPL Final.

  • SRH: 113 (18.3 overs)
  • KKR: 114/2 (10.3)

KKR won by 8 wickets, still 57 balls left. Kolkata Knight Riders won the  IPL match thrice- 2012, 2014 and 2024.

All the players and teams showcase their talent and skill. Here, we bring you a list of potential awards that the players win due to their performance in the IPL 2024.

  • IPL 2024 champions- Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Orange Cap- Virat Kohli
  • Purple Cap- Harshal Patel
  • Most Valuable Player of the season- Sunil Narine
  • Fairplay- Sunil Narine
  • Fair Play Award- Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Emerging player- Nitish Kumar Reddy
  • Marcus Stoinis- Highest score in 2024 (124 not out)
  • Travis Head- Fastest century (102-39 balls)
  • Electric striker of the season- Jake Fraser-McGurk
  • Perfect catch of the season- Ramandeep Singh
  • Man of the Match (SRH vs KKR Finale)- Mitchell Starc

Details of all tournament award winners:


Orange Cap Winner: Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Virat Kohli, a player of Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) won the Orange Cap for the 2024 IPL season. He received an orange cap due to a total of 741 runs in 15 matches. He showcases their ability to score heavily in the season. This season again made him one of the premier batsmen in IPL history. 

Purple Cap Winner: Harshal Patel (Punjab Kings)

Harshal Patel, a player of Punjab Kings (PBKS) won the Purple Cap for the 2024 IPL season. He received a purple cap for taking 24 wickets in 14 matches, which is the highest. His taking wickets regularly made him a pivotal player for PBKS throughout the season.

Most Valuable Player (MVP): Sunil Narine (Kolkata Knight Riders)

IPL 2024 is the outstanding season for Sunil Narine. He played well with the bat and ball. He was awarded MVP because he scored Most Valuable Player (MVP): Sunil Narine (Kolkata Knight Riders). He is an all-rounder and gives an all-rounded performance in the entire season which brings Kolkata Knight Riders to success.


Emerging Player of the Season: Nitish Kumar Reddy (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Nitish Kumar Reddy belongs to the Sunrisers Hyderabad and was awarded Emerging Player of the Season due to scoring well with 303 runs. His performance is outstanding in several matches, which will brighten his future in the upcoming national and international matches.

Electric Striker of the Season: Jake Fraser-McGurk (Delhi Capitals)

Jake Fraser-McGurk, a player from the Delhi Capitals. He hit the highest strike rate of 234.04 which made him the Electric Striker of the Season. He is a good batsman who scored quickly which added to his presence in the team. His performance brightened up his cricket career.

Super Striker of the Season: Abhishek Sharma (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Abhishek Sharma, a player from the Sunrisers Hyderabad hit the most six of the IPL 2024 season. He earned the Super Striker of the Season award because he hit 42 sixes in the entire IPL 2024 season. He is a brilliant batsman and his aggressive batting style was a major highlight of the season.

Game-changer of the Season: Sunil Narine (Kolkata Knight Riders)

I{PL 2024 is the great season for the Sunil Narine. Besides MVP, Sunil Narine was also awarded as the Game-changer of the Season because of his impactful performances throughout the tournament. He caught most of the eye and became a legend in cricket.


Power Player of the Season: Travis Head (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Travis Head, a player from the Sunrisers Hyderabad hit the most boundaries during the powerplay overs. He is awarded as Power Player of the Season because he hits the boundaries 64 times. His outstanding performance is appreciable.

Fair Play Award: Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad does not win the IPL 2024 season. But, they won the Fair Play Award, which is given to the team that plays the game in the best spirit. SRH gives a brilliant performance throughout the season, which brings them to the final.

Catch of the Season: Ramandeep Singh (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Ramandeep Singh, a player from the Kolkata Knight Riders is awarded as best catch of the season against Lucknow Super Giants. In Sunday’s match, Ramandeep Singh took an absolute blinder catch to dismiss Arshin Kulkarni and made a stunning effort to complete it.

Man of the Match in the Final: Mitchell Starc (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Mitchell Starc, player of the winning team- Kolkata Knight Riders was awarded Man of the Match in the Final. His standout performance in the final made him a man of the match. He took 2 wickets for just 14 runs in his 4 overs. In addition, his economical bowling was also the way to KKR’s victory 



The 2024 IPL season has just ended. It was a great season for the cricketers as well as cricket lovers. It is a platform to showcase remarkable individual and team performances. IPL is not just about winning the title. It is a tournament to show individual capabilities and performance. Virat Kohli and Harshal Patel stood out with their exceptional contributions, earning the Orange Cap and Purple Cap respectively. In addition, Sunil Narine and Nitish Kumar Reddy also made significant impacts by earning several titles. The season not only highlighted the established stars but also brought forth emerging talents, promising an even more exciting future for the league.


Leave a Comment

Floating Icons