India General Elections 2024: Phase 6 Voting, Key Candidates, Voter Turnout, and Important Documents

India General Elections 2024: Phase 6 Voting, Key Candidates, Voter Turnout, and Important Documents

The sixth phase of India’s seven-phase election is happening today. Voting is taking place in 58 seats, including all seven seats in Delhi. The first five phases of voting were on April 19, April 26, May 7, May 13, and May 20. The last day to vote is June 1, and the votes will be counted on June 4. This election mainly has the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), against the Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance (INDIA), led by the Indian National Congress party. Around 969 million registered voters are choosing 543 members for the Lok Sabha, India’s lower house of parliament. This is the world’s largest democratic election, taking place over six weeks.


India General Elections 2024: Voter turnout reached 49.2% till 3 pm

As of 3 pm, the overall voter turnout for Phase 6 is 49.2%. West Bengal had the highest turnout at 54.80%, while Bihar and Haryana both saw 36.48%. Jharkhand recorded 42.54%, Jammu & Kashmir 35.22%, and Odisha 35.69%. Uttar Pradesh had 37.23%, and Delhi reported 34.37%. This shows strong voter participation across the regions.


In this phase, 889 candidates are competing. Campaigning for these seats ended on Thursday. After today, only 57 constituencies will remain for the final phase of polling on June 1. So far, voting has finished in 25 states and Union Territories, covering 428 out of the 543 total constituencies. The final phase of the election is on June 1, and the votes will be counted on June 4.


Constituencies going to election in Phase 6

State Seats Contested in Phase 6 Total Seats in State
Delhi North-East Delhi, North-West Delhi, Chandni Chowk, South Delhi, West Delhi, New Delhi, East Delhi 7
Bihar Valmiki Nagar, Paschim Champaran, Purvi Champaran, Sheohar, Vaishali, Gopalganj (SC), Siwan, Maharajganj 8 out of 20
Uttar Pradesh Sultanpur, Pratapgarh, Phulpur, Allahabad, Ambedkar Nagar, Shrawasti, Domariyaganj, Basti, Sant Kabir Nagar, Lalganj, Azamgarh, Jaunpur, Machhlishahr, Bhadohi 14 out of 80
Jammu and Kashmir Anantnag-Rajouri 1 out of 5
Haryana Ambala, Kurukshetra, Sirsa, Hisar, Karnal, Sonipat, Rohtak, Bhiwani-Mahendragarh, Gurgaon, Faridabad All 10
Odisha Bhubaneswar, Puri, Dhenkanal, Keonjhar (SC), Cuttack, Sambalpur 6 out of 21
West Bengal Tamluk, Kanthi, Ghatal, Jhargram, Medinipur, Purulia, Bankura, Bishnupur 8 out of 42
Jharkhand Giridih, Dhanbad, Ranchi, Jamshedpur 4 out of 14


List Of Main Candidates

Candidate Party Constituency State
Dharmendra Pradhan BJP Sambalpur Odisha
Manoj Tiwari BJP North East Delhi Delhi
Kanhaiya Kumar Congress North East Delhi Delhi
Maneka Gandhi BJP Sultanpur Uttar Pradesh
Mehbooba Mufti PDP Anantnag-Rajouri Jammu & Kashmir
Abhijit Gangopadhyay BJP Tamluk West Bengal
Manohar Lal Khattar BJP Karnal Haryana
Naveen Jindal Independent Kurukshetra Haryana
Rao Inderjit Singh BJP Gurgaon Haryana



What Documents can be used to cast vote without Voter ID?

  • Aadhaar card
  • PAN (permanent account number) card
  • Passbook issued by a bank or a post office, entailing the photograph
  • Driving licence
  • Passport
  • Pension document for retired personnel
  • Student identity cards issued by recognised educational institutions
  • Service ID card issued by a state government, central government, PSU (public sector undertaking), including the MGNREGA (Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act) job card
  • A health insurance smart card issued by the Ministry of Labour and Employment
  • Authenticated Photo Voter Slip
  • SC, ST, OBC certificates issued by competent authority
  • Property documents such as pattas, registered deeds, etc. in the name of the voter
  • Ration card
  • Smart cards issued by the Registrar General of India under the scheme of National Population Register
  • Certificate of physical disability by the competent authority
  • Ex-servicemen CSD Canteen Card


How to Vote in India? 

  • First, the polling official will find your name on the voter list and check your ID.
  • Then, another official will mark your finger with ink, give you a slip, and ask you to sign a register.
  • You need to hand over the slip to a third official and show your inked finger before entering the polling booth.
  • Inside, press the button next to the symbol of the candidate you want to vote for on the Electronic Voting Machine (EVM). You’ll hear a beep.
  • Look at the slip that comes out of the VVPAT machine. It will show the candidate’s name and symbol for 7 seconds before dropping into a sealed box.
  • If you don’t want to vote for any candidate, you can press the NOTA button, which is the last one on the EVM.
  • If you need more details, you can check the Voter Guide on
  • Remember, it’s essential to follow these steps carefully to cast your vote correctly.




Q: When is Phase 6 of India’s General Elections 2024?


A: Phase 6 of India’s General Elections 2024 is happening today, covering 58 seats including all seven seats in Delhi.


Q: What is the voter turnout for Phase 6 as of 3 pm?

A: As of 3 pm, the overall voter turnout for Phase 6 is 49.2%, with West Bengal leading at 54.80%.



Q: How many phases are there in the 2024 Indian General Elections?

A: There are seven phases in the 2024 Indian General Elections. Phase 6 is currently underway, and the final phase is on June 1.



Q: Which major political alliances are competing in this election?

A: The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) led by BJP and the Indian National Developmental Inclusive

Alliance (INDIA) led by the Congress are the main competitors.



Q: How many candidates are contesting in Phase 6?

A: In Phase 6, 889 candidates are competing for 58 seats across various states and union territories.


Q: What documents can be used to vote without a Voter ID?


A: Voters can use documents like Aadhaar card, PAN card, passport, driving licence, passbook with a photo, and more.


Q: When will the votes be counted?

A: The votes for the 2024 Indian General Elections will be counted on June 4.



Q: Which states are involved in Phase 6 voting?

A: States involved in Phase 6 voting include Delhi, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Haryana, Odisha, West Bengal, and Jharkhand.



Q: How many seats are being contested in Phase 6 in Uttar Pradesh?

A: In Uttar Pradesh, 14 seats are being contested in Phase 6.


Q: What is the role of market capitalization in these elections?


A: Market capitalization measures a company’s value and reflects its influence, but it does not directly impact the elections. However, the economic performance of companies can influence voter sentiment.

Leave a Comment

Floating Icons