Idukki Lok Sabha Election 2024 Result

Idukki, a picturesque Lok Sabha constituency in Kerala, is renowned for its lush landscapes and agricultural significance. The 2024 Lok Sabha elections in Idukki were keenly contested, reflecting the region’s active political engagement. This article provides a comprehensive analysis of the 2024 election results in Idukki, exploring its historical context, socio-political landscape, and key candidates’ performance.

Historical Context and Socio-Political Landscape:

Idukki’s socio-political landscape is deeply influenced by its agrarian economy and natural resources. The region’s history of political activism and community involvement has shaped its electoral preferences. With a diverse population, Idukki has traditionally seen a strong presence of both the Indian National Congress (INC) and the Left Democratic Front (LDF).

Idukki Lok Sabha Election 2024 Results

Candidate Party Votes Vote Share (%)
Dean Kuriakose Indian National Congress 410,542 51.23
Joice George Independent 360,784 45.00
Suresh Gopi Bharatiya Janata Party 29,876 3.77

Electoral History and Past Performance:

Historically, Idukki has oscillated between the Indian National Congress and independent candidates, with occasional strong performances from the Left Democratic Front. The region’s electoral history reflects its agrarian concerns and the impact of local leadership.

2024 Candidates and Voter Turnout:

The 2024 elections in Idukki featured the following prominent candidates:

  • Dean Kuriakose (Indian National Congress)
  • Joice George (Independent)
  • Suresh Gopi (Bharatiya Janata Party)

The voter turnout was robust, with 79.34% of the electorate participating, showcasing the constituency’s active involvement in the electoral process.

2019 Candidates and Results

Candidate Party Votes Vote Share (%)
Dean Kuriakose Indian National Congress 372,293 49.60
Joice George Independent 361,464 48.16
Biju Krishnan Bahujan Samaj Party 17,862 2.24

Election Verdict and Analysis:

Dean Kuriakose of the Indian National Congress emerged victorious in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections in Idukki, securing 51.23% of the vote share. His win underscores the continued influence of the INC in the region and his ability to address local concerns effectively. Joice George, running as an independent, garnered substantial support but fell short of overtaking the INC. The Bharatiya Janata Party’s Suresh Gopi managed to capture a small segment of the vote.


The 2024 Lok Sabha election results in Idukki highlight the region’s preference for experienced political leadership and the Indian National Congress’s enduring influence. Dean Kuriakose’s victory reflects his strong connection with the electorate and the importance of addressing Idukki’s unique socio-economic challenges. Moving forward, the focus will be on sustainable development and representing Idukki’s interests at the national level.

Leave a Comment

Floating Icons