Cuttack Lok Sabha Election 2024 Result

Today we will discuss the Lok Sabha results for the state of Orissa. Today the Election Commission of India finally declared the results for the 18th Lok Sabha————-  Party won          ————seats and will now be creating the government at the centre. 


Odisha has 21 Lok Sabha constituencies, this article will be dealing with only one Lok Sabha constituency which is Cuttack.



Cuttack constituency holds significance in the political history of Orissa as the old empire of Kalinga has its capital in the city of Cuttack itself later after independence in 1947 Orissa shifted its capital to Bhubaneswar. It is situated at the joining point of the Mahanadi River and its tributary the kathajodi. It holds importance being the birthplace of Subhash Chandra Bose. The rural area of Cutack is known for its high literacy rate of almost 86%. Cuttack is also home to 16.67%scheduled caste population and it also comprises almost 4.05% of the scheduled tribe’s population. 


In the constituency of Cuttack, three major parties contest elections one is BJD second is BJP and the third is INC. As per the data released by the Election Commission of India, the total voter turnout in Cuttack was 71.20%. Elections in Cuttack took place on 25th May 2024  in phase VI of polls


Poll event Phase 6
Filling on nomination 29th April 2024
Last date of filing nomination

6th May 2024
Scrutiny of  nomination 7th May 2024
Last date of withdrawal of nomination 9th May 2024
Date of poll 25th May 2024
Date of counting votes 4th June 2024
Number of constituency


As you know Odisha has 21 constituencies and the results for all 21 constituencies have been announced so let’s have a look on the results of the Cuttack constituency.



Major parties at the election on Cuttack-


There were three major parties in the election of Cuttack they were INC, BJP and BJD. 



Indian National Congress which was founded by A. O. Hume in 1805 was the leading party in the election of Cuttack. Earlier when India was a British colony Indian National Congress played a vital role in making India independent.


BJP which has been the ruling party since 2014 was founded in 1955 in the form of Bhartiya Jan Sangh by Shyama Prasad Mukherjee who left Hindu Mahasabha to form it. Later after the revocation of the emergency various other parties merged with Bharatiya Jana Sangh and the Janata Party which later came to be known as Bharatiya Janata Party



BJD aur Biju Janata Dal founded by Naveen Patnaik on 26 December 1997 is an Indian regional party with an influence in the politics of Odisha. It was formed when Naveen Patnaik parted ways from Janata Dal. The headquarters of the party is located in Bhubaneswar, Orissa.


Candidates in Cuttack constituency



This year Suresh Mohapatra is contesting his election on the ticket of INC. He holds assets worth around 90 lac rupees ( approx) and also resides in Bhubaneswar according to the affidavit filed by him with the Election Commission of India 


This year  Bhartihari Mehtab is contesting elections from this constituency on the ticket of BJP he joined BJP this year only earlier in 2019 from Cuttack constituency from BJD. He initiated his political career in 1999. He was elected to Lok Sabha in 1999 2004 2009 2014 and 2019. He also received the Outstanding Parliamentarian Award in, 2017.



This year Santrupt Mishra is contesting his election from BJD. He is an Indian corporate leader and the CEO of Aditya Birla Group which is one of the biggest conglomerates of India. 


Results of Cuttack constituency



This year———  party won the election with a margin of  ——-       votes from other candidates. 


2019 Lok Sabha poll results –



In the 2019 Lok Sabha polls Shree Bhartihari Mehtab from BJD won the elections with a margin of almost 121201 votes from his cut-to-cut opponent Prakash Mishra from BJP. Other candidates also contested from that seat but they only secured a miniscule amount of votes. 

He secured 524592 votes and reaffirmed his position as an incumbent member of the Lok Sabha


Leave a Comment

Floating Icons