Jadavpur Lok Sabha Election Result 2024: A Comprehensive Analysis

Jadavpur Lok Sabha constituency, situated in the South 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, has long been a significant political battleground. Known for its rich cultural heritage and diverse demographics, Jadavpur holds immense importance in Indian politics. In the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, the constituency witnessed a fiercely contested battle among key political players, each vying for electoral success and the opportunity to represent the aspirations of the people.

Historical Context and Previous Elections

Historically, Jadavpur has been a stronghold of various political parties, with leaders from the Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPM), Trinamool Congress (TMC), and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) competing for supremacy. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, TMC candidate Mimi Chakravarti emerged victorious, securing 688,472 votes and defeating BJP’s Professor Anupam Hazra.

2019 Election Results:

Candidate Party Votes Vote Share (%)
Mimi Chakravarti TMC 688,472 55.27
Anupam Hazra BJP 393,233 31.50
Others Various 155,295 13.23

In the 2014 elections, Sugata Bose of the All India Trinamool Congress emerged victorious, consolidating TMC’s hold over the constituency.


2024 Election: Key Candidates and Voter Turnout

For the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, prominent candidates included Saayoni Ghosh from TMC, Dr. Anirban Ganguly from BJP, and Srijan Bhattacharya from CPM. The election, held on June 1st, 2024, witnessed a robust voter turnout of 71.85 percent, indicative of the electorate’s active participation and engagement in the democratic process.

2024 Candidates:

  • Saayoni Ghosh (TMC)
  • Dr. Anirban Ganguly (BJP)
  • Srijan Bhattacharya (CPM)

2024 Election Results and Analysis

The 2024 Lok Sabha election results in Jadavpur reflected the continuing dominance of TMC in the constituency. Saayoni Ghosh emerged victorious with a significant margin, consolidating TMC’s electoral supremacy in the region. Dr. Anirban Ganguly of BJP and Srijan Bhattacharya of CPM secured notable vote shares but were unable to challenge TMC’s stronghold.

2024 Election Results:

Candidate Party Votes Vote Share (%)
Saayoni Ghosh TMC XXX,XXX XX.XX
Dr. Anirban Ganguly BJP XXX,XXX XX.XX
Srijan Bhattacharya CPM XXX,XXX XX.XX
Others Various XXX,XXX XX.XX

Key Issues and Campaigns

The 2024 election campaign in Jadavpur revolved around several key issues:

  1. Development and Infrastructure: Promises of infrastructure development, including road connectivity, healthcare facilities, and access to clean water.
  2. Youth Empowerment: Initiatives to promote skill development, employment opportunities, and entrepreneurship among the youth.
  3. Social Welfare Programs: Commitments to strengthen social welfare schemes, healthcare services, and education infrastructure.
  4. Cultural Preservation: Efforts to preserve and promote the rich cultural heritage of Jadavpur.


The Jadavpur Lok Sabha election 2024 reaffirmed TMC’s dominance in the constituency, with Saayoni Ghosh securing a decisive victory. The election results underscore the electorate’s trust in TMC’s leadership and its commitment to addressing the needs and aspirations of the people of Jadavpur. As the elected representative, Saayoni Ghosh faces the task of fulfilling her electoral promises and working towards the holistic development of the constituency. The Jadavpur Lok Sabha constituency remains a vibrant political arena, reflective of the dynamic nature of Indian democracy.

Leave a Comment

Floating Icons