Chennai South Lok Sabha Election Result 2024

Chennai South Lok Sabha Election 2024 Results

Here in this article we are going to shed light on the 2024 Lok Sabha election result of Chennai south. Today, the Election Commission of India finally declared the Chennai south Lok Sabha election result for 2024. The election took place on 19th April 2024 in Tamil Nadu. As per the outcomes, the (……) party has won by (……) seats. Chennai South is one of the 3 constituencies of Chennai. Its parliamentary constituency number is 3 of 39 constituencies of Tamil Nadu. Here are 4 major parties contested against one another, namely Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam(DMK), Naam Tamilar Ktchi (NTK), All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK). Let’s explore the results of the General elections of Chennai South in 2024.


Poll event Phase
Notification Date 20 March
The last Date for filing a nomination 27 March
Scrutiny of nomination 28 March
Last Date for withdrawal of nomination 30 March
Date of poll 19 April
Date of counting of votes/Result 4 June 2024
No. of constituencies 39


Result for  Chennai South Lok Sabha election 2024:

Thamizhachi Thangapandian was contesting on behalf of Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam. Simultaneously, Tamilisai Soundararajan was standing for the Bharatiya Janata Party. On the other side S.Tamilselvi was the candidate from Naam Tamilar Katchi. And J.Jayavardhan was contesting on behalf of AIADMK. As per the declaration given by the Election Commission of India, (…..) won the Chennai South MP seat with (…..) votes.


Major parties in Chennai South:

As mentioned above, 4 major parties stand against one another in Chennai. Bharatiya Janata Party, AIADMK, DMK, NTK. Bharatiya Janata Party is one of the major political parties in India parallel to the Indian National Congress. However AIADMK is an Indian regional political party that influences Tamil Nadu and the Union territory of Puducherry. It is a dravidian party and the foundation of it was laid by the former chief minister of Tamil Nadu M.G Ramachandran at Madurai on 17th October 1972. 


On the other hand, DMK is an Indian political party of Tamil Nadu, where it is the ruling party, and the union territory of Puducherry. Similarly NTK is a Tamil nationalist party among Indian states of Tamil Nadu.

Chennai South Lok Sabha constituencies and candidates:

Thamizhachi  Thangapandian, contesting from DMK, also known as Sumathy Naidu,is an Indian Tamil poet, lyricist, orator, politician and writer. Coming from a telugu family she got elected to lok sabha, lower house of parliament of  India, from Chennai South constituency in 2019 Indian general election of lok sabha as a member of DMK. 



Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan belongs to Bharatiya Janata Party. She has already worked as the second governor of Telangana and served as Lieutenant Governer of puducherry from 18th February 2021 to 18th March 2024. 


  1. Jayavardhan who is contesting from AIADMK. He is an Indian politician who was elected to Lok Sabha from Chennai South constituency. He is doctor by profession and became the youngest MP in India at the age of 26 by securing a seat from  South Chennai.

Whereas the 4th candidate S.Tamilselvi is a retired associate professor



Below is the table that represents the major constituencies along with the respective candidates.


Party Candidate Votes % ±%
DMK Thamizhachi Thangapandian
BJP Tamilisai Soundararajan
NTK S. Tamilselvi
AIADMK J. Jayavardhan
NOTA None of the above
Margin of victory
Registered electors
gain from Swing

2019 Chennai South Lok Sabha election results:

In the 2019 general election of Lok Sabha in Chennai South, Thamizhachi Thangapandian from DMK won by 50.28%. Whereas Dr J. Jayavardhan from AIADMK was below DMK with 26.94%. R.Rangarajan from Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM,an Indian regional political party in Tamil Nadu and Union Territory of Puducherry, founded by Kamal Hasan in 2018) got 12.06%. A.J


Sherine from NTK got 4.47%. Lastly the independent party and NOTA received 2.63% and 1.50% respectively.The overall turnout, as per the Election Commission of India, was 56.92%.


The general elections of 2024 have come to an end now. The (….) party is ready to create a government in India. It has secured (….)seats in the Lok Sabha. Soon we are going to witness the oath ceremony of this new government .


Leave a Comment

Floating Icons