Barasat Lok Sabha Election Result 2024

Barasat, a prominent town and Lok Sabha constituency in the North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, has long been a bastion of political activity and influence. Renowned for its rich cultural heritage and historical significance, Barasat holds a pivotal position in the political landscape of West Bengal. The 2024 Lok Sabha elections in Barasat witnessed a fervent contest among key political contenders vying for electoral success and the opportunity to represent the aspirations of the people effectively.

Historical Background and Political Landscape

During the 19th century, Barasat flourished as a center of intellectual and cultural activity, with eminent personalities like novelist and poet Bankim Chandra Chattopadhyay leaving an indelible mark on its history. Over the years, Barasat has evolved into a significant political constituency, encompassing seven legislative assemblies and reflecting the diverse demographic composition of the region. The constituency has traditionally been a stronghold of the Trinamool Congress (TMC), with Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar emerging as a prominent leader and representing the seat since 2009.

Previous Elections and Electoral Dynamics

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar of the Trinamool Congress retained the Barasat seat, securing a decisive victory with a significant margin of votes. The BJP’s Mrinal Kanti Debnath emerged as the closest contender, while the All India Forward Bloc’s Harpad Biswas secured the third position. The impressive voter turnout of 81.19% underscored the active engagement of the electorate in the democratic process.

2019 Election Results:

Candidate Party Votes Vote Share (%)
Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar TMC 648,444 XX.XX
Mrinal Kanti Debnath BJP 538,275 XX.XX
Harpad Biswas All India Forward Bloc 124,068 XX.XX

2024 Election: Key Candidates and Voter Turnout

For the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, prominent candidates included Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar from the All India Trinamool Congress (TMC), Swapan Majumdar from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and Sanjib Chatterjee from the Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI(M)). The election, held on June 1st, 2024, witnessed an impressive voter turnout of 76.11%, indicative of the electorate’s enthusiasm and commitment to exercising their franchise.

2024 Candidates:

  • Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar (TMC)
  • Swapan Majumdar (BJP)
  • Sanjib Chatterjee (CPI(M))

Election Results and Analysis

The 2024 Lok Sabha election results in Barasat reaffirmed the dominance of the Trinamool Congress in the constituency. Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar secured a resounding victory, consolidating TMC’s hold over the seat. Despite a spirited challenge from the BJP and CPI(M), TMC’s organizational strength and mass appeal played a decisive role in shaping the electoral outcome.

2024 Election Results:

Candidate Party Votes Vote Share (%)
Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar TMC XXX,XXX XX.XX
Swapan Majumdar BJP XXX,XXX XX.XX
Sanjib Chatterjee CPI(M) XXX,XXX XX.XX
Others Various XXX,XXX XX.XX


The Barasat Lok Sabha election 2024 reaffirmed TMC’s supremacy in the constituency, with Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar emerging victorious once again. The election results underscored the electorate’s trust in TMC’s leadership and its commitment to addressing the needs and aspirations of the people of Barasat. As the elected representative, Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar faces the task of fulfilling her electoral promises and working towards the holistic development of the constituency. Barasat remains a crucial political arena, emblematic of the dynamic nature of West Bengal’s political landscape and the vibrant democratic ethos of the region.

Leave a Comment

Floating Icons